accidentally blanked a word document, can i recover it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 39
Default accidentally blanked a word document, can i recover it?

my friend was using word and editing this really crucial document. he edits a few. and i came to it and he was shocked to see it was blank. i think possibly what he did was he had a few documents open and accidentally clicked save on a blank document instead of open and saved a blank page for the important document.

anyway, in the folder, there are all the temporarily created files(ending with .tmp) for another document, but none for this document. the document is blank.

is there any program where you can select the file, and you can see all the previous modifications?

like if document x contained the text "abcd" and was later edited to "xyz", would it be possible to recover the abcd file if you didnt know it contained abcd?
__________________

IIIIIIIIIIIIIII is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

pwnd!

Nothing that I can think of will work...

Sorry.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brady
pwnd!

Nothing that I can think of will work...

Sorry.


Lol that was rude,

if you have had the document for a few days you could try to system restore back to a day when you had it, or most of it
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

to bad you dont have volume shadow copy

you should set your documents to autosave every 1 minute. Always create a backup copy should be selected
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 10:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

try an undelete program like FreeUndelete....
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
to bad you dont have volume shadow copy

you should set your documents to autosave every 1 minute. Always create a backup copy should be selected
shouldn't erd commander 2005 work?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 01:01 AM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

as long as u have it enabled system restore should have it like mikee said. depends on how much memory u allocated to SR.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 05:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 39
Default

OK i tried a few of thses undelete programs and one of them i got a previous version of the file. This is an ok version but the problem is, when i recovered it, it was simply a bunch of incomprehensible code. it is the same size, but a bunch of weird characters. the weird thing is it actually does have a few paragraphs of normal text that was in the file. but the rest is just a bunch of strange characters.

When i clikc to open it it asks me to insert a disc from MS Office becuase. but i dont have this disk.

Word says "Microsoft Word can't import the specified format. This feature is not installed. Would you like to install it now?" Then it asks me for the disc but i odnt have it!
IIIIIIIIIIIIIII is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 05:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 39
Default

Oh yeah and i tried system restore, it said it couldnt restore because no changes had been made since then. WTF?
IIIIIIIIIIIIIII is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 39
Default

bump
__________________

IIIIIIIIIIIIIII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.