access private account profiles in windows xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default access private account profiles in windows xp

hey, this ones a bugger, my uncle's computer got screwy so im backing up the user profiles and documents and doing a system restore, but...his daughets locked their accounts(made them private in users and groups) so now even if i stick the hard drive in my system as a secondary i cant copy, cut, paste, or even access the profile folder, dell tech support wont give me 10 seconds of support with out paying a minimum of 99$ which is a load. so yea. I would'nt've called them but i figured i don't really want to wait hours for a reply here so...here i am anyway.

thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

reboot and log into safe mode, there should be an admin account to log into, go in there
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i keep lookin for articles on it, i cant access it even with an admin account, plus i cant boot that hard drive either it keeps BSODing at windows boot, i tried safe mode same thing, i stuck it in my server 2k3 box as a secondary and even with the admin account there i cant access any of the private accounts, tried recovery console but that thing was being *****y
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

TRy Knoppix? or ERD Commander?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i'll give it a try but i dunno if it'll go, knoppix can read NTFS but cant write correct?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

cant say becasue i never used it. I use ERD
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

you wouldnt be able to upload an ISO of ERD would ya? if i found space i'd kill to have erd
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

linux can do it. it can run off a cd too, so you don't need to install it


Knoppix 3.9

http://www.kernel.org/pub/dist/knop...05-05-27-EN.iso

Ubuntu

http://us.releases.ubuntu.com/releases/5.04/
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i've tried and its MAJORLY pissin me off right now, i have a 17 inch monitor and a video card that was givin me high resos before but in linux? no....
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you log in as an admin and go to Local users and groups? is the hard drive bootable??
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.