Access Denied - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2006, 06:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
Default Access Denied

Gday, my pc is having problems so i ended up needing to re-install windows to fix the problem because repair wouldnt work.

after i had reinstalled windows i wanted to backup my stuff and then format and start with a clean drive. whilst i was backing up documents and settings it wouldnt let me open the folder that had all of my stuff in it because it had an Access Denied see you local admin error.

i have seen software that changes the permissions so that the error dont happen, does anyone know of any of this type of software?

thanx, Cameron
__________________

zombie_master is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 08:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

You need to take ownership of the folders and files in question...

Here are some guides:

http://www.winxptutor.com/ownership.htm

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=308421
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 10:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

if a repair didnt work and you needed to re install windows then you would have formated and the documents folder would be empty anyway?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by King X13
if a repair didnt work and you needed to re install windows then you would have formated and the documents folder would be empty anyway?
... You make a good point

zombie_master, do you mean you've backed up the data on another medium before you formatted (like on another hard drive) and now you're trying to backup data from that medium?

Quote:
after i had reinstalled windows i wanted to backup my stuff and then format and start with a clean drive
...doesn't make sense ???

...Or are you trying to backup personal data now (after you've formatted and re-installed Windows) :freak: !?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.