About Page Fileing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 11:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default About Page Fileing

My page fileing is really bad. It uses 266MB, and only has 35MB available. Is there a way to increase this? These are my computer specs:

Current Date/Time: Monday, November 25, 2005, 11:04:37

Computer Name: ******(for my protection)-RPC64EXM

Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600)

Language: English (Regional Setting: English)

System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corperation

System Model: Dimension 2400

BIOS: Pheonix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A05

Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.88Ghz, ~2.8Ghz

Memory: 126MB RAM

Page file: 266MB used, 35MB Available

DirectX Version: 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
__________________

Kidd is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

The problem is that you only have 126 (probably 128) MB ram. As a default most OS's use between 1.5 and 2x Ram to calculate the size of the page file.

You can manually set your pagefile size, but that can cause some instability. I would greatly recommend investing in at least 512MB of ram.

To change your pagefile size, to the following:

Right click My computer --> Click Properties --> Click on the Advanced tab --> Click on Settings under Performance --> Click on the Advanced tab --> Click on Change under Virtual Memory.

Select Custom size, and input the initial and maximum page file size. The initial is what it is set to at system boot, the max it how large it can grow to during OS usage.

(This is for WinXP).

Once again, I seriously recommend you buy more memory for your pc. 128MB is barely enough to run WindowsXP alone.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

OMG.....you will not be able to run XP effectively with so little RAM. RAM is dirt cheap......buy a gig and forever forget about the page file. YOu won't ever need to worry about it again!

L@@K: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...o.x=21&Go.y=25
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Yeah, I plan on buying either a 512mb, or 2 of them once I get over to circuit city or best buy.
Kidd is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Yo won't regret it!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.