Aah! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2004, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default Aah!

I've messed up my computer somehow. What happened was, i tried to remove Linux by using PartitionMagic to format the partiton, then i merged them, i think. Anyway, I then used a restore disk I had for windows 98se, and tried to restore the system. However, now when i try to load Windows I can't. LILO comes up and when I select Windows it doesn't load. It's all completely messed up. I can't load Linux either. I'm panicking, help!

m3trj is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323

Try and reinstall windows on its partition without overwriting the files. If not, you may be in trouble (format).

My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO

A good reformating will do you well, if all else fails.

-Dan The Man
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

fdisk /mbr at dos prompt
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 09:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

remove the linux boot partition, set the windows partition active and do what killians45 said
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.