98SE crashes when in My Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 10:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Angry 98SE crashes when in My Computer

Hello all,

My problem is when ever I open up My Computer and click on one of the drives, it opens the drive, then the whole pc locks up then crashes.

Any ideas?

Thanks! :sigh:
__________________

pcrobot is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

crashes as in blue screen? do you get any error?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by csamuels
crashes as in blue screen? do you get any error?
Yes, I get a blue screen.
pcrobot is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

post the error so we can diagnose
office politics is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i really think you should upgrade to something better, even 2000 would work fine.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Question

I think I've found the problem, but I don't know how to fix it... I downloaded GTAINSTALLER.zip from RockStar Games' website, and extracted it. Now when I right-click on GTAINSTALLER.exe (or select it, then press delete) the whole pc freezes... I don't get a blue screen, I just end up restarting the computer. Is there a way to erase a partition? (I can part with all the rest of the files on it if only I could get rid of it.)
pcrobot is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i have grand theft auto 3 and vice city for PC, i can put the installer file in a zip file for you, and you wont get a virus!

I wouldnt trust rockstar games' website...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
i have grand theft auto 3 and vice city for PC, i can put the installer file in a zip file for you, and you wont get a virus!

I wouldnt trust rockstar games' website...
E-mail me the link!
pcrobot is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 05:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

okay, give me your email address (pm me) and i'll send you the zip file through hotmail.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.