98 shutdown - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2003, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default 98 shutdown

Why is is that when I shut down one of my win 98's it goes straight down and the other goes to a black screen that says "ok to shutdown now" ?
I would like for both to shutdown without the black screen .

Thanks for any help:bald:
__________________

mobo is offline  
Old 05-16-2003, 05:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Under your control panel there should be a power option. Inside that make sure that ACPI is turned ON
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 05-16-2003, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

No acpi setting to change so maybe it is as microbell says

Some motherboards do not support software shutdown..hence you must use the power switch to switch off the computer.
mobo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.