64bit WinXP...anyone? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2004, 01:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 70
Question 64bit WinXP...anyone?

I was wondering if anyone has had the chance to load up the new 64-bit XP and use it at all?I know its beta still..I believe. But if anyone has used itm, please post up and let me know how it is cause I want to dl it after I get my new AMD.

-Corey
__________________

__________________
Antec P160
AMD 3000+ 939 socket
MSI K8V Neo2 Platinum
1 Gb Kingston 3200
BFG 6800gt
WD 74gb raptor
xcoreyx is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 01:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I tried it, and without 64-bit software, the only difference is the fact that it sucks in games and it makes your processor run extra hot.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 03:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

You know, with as many people that complain about Windows having bugs and security problems, it always floors me how many people install the betas. lol. Oh well.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 70
Default

ya...i was just wondering. i figured it would still have many bugs and crap like that.thanks for the reply.
__________________
Antec P160
AMD 3000+ 939 socket
MSI K8V Neo2 Platinum
1 Gb Kingston 3200
BFG 6800gt
WD 74gb raptor
xcoreyx is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 01:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

In that case, knock yourself out! As long as you do things on a no-risk environment, you're fine. Test to your heart's content! Microsoft provides TONS of documentation on all their software, though as with all beta releases, you'll probably not get much support. Still, there's a decent stack of stuff in the user newsgroups.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

There's no way I'd try an OS beta on my box. That's far too mush of a risk for me.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 03:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
There's no way I'd try an OS beta on my box. That's far too mush of a risk for me.
...:freak:
That's why you do it on a test box, buddy. Why on earth would you install a beta OS on your primary machine? Beta OS's are for subjecting your old (spare/play) machines to torment and torture.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 06:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

I saw some benchmarks a while back and even running on AMD64's the 64 bit OS did things slower than the good and soon to be old 32 bit XP. But like everyone said, it still has many bugs and no 64 bit software.
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 06:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

no one uses the 64bit edition man
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 06:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

If you want to try something new... do some research on 64-bit linux
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.