64 V. 32 bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2007, 04:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default 64 V. 32 bit

Which version of vista premium should I get. I am a gamer.
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 08:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: 64 V. 32 bit

Wow...this question has been asked since Vista's release. Wich there was a search function somewhere...just kidding.

32 Bit. Beware that gaming is a bit slower on VIsta than XP and that the driver support (espically for your 8800) is buggy at best.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 64 V. 32 bit

I would stick with xp until dx10 really kicks into play and by that time they will have dx10 on xp
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: 64 V. 32 bit

DX10 is not to be coming to XP. There has been no official announcement of this and the hacked version of DX10 for XP is for demo only.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: 64 V. 32 bit

Yea sorry I knew it probably had been but I just hate paying for an OS so I don't want to have to do it again until a new one is released, Just wanted to make sure that 32 was the right choice. Thanks.
__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.