64 bit vs 32 bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 12-31-2003, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default 64 bit vs 32 bit

hey all. first post here. anyways

so i was reading up on this thread here http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...5&pagenumber=1

and i was wondering what the differences were between 32 bit and 64 bit. as you can tell i'm a total noob.

i was planning on getting the amd 64 fx 51 pretty soon, but it's pretty pointless because windows xp is only 32 bit? therefore not allowing the fx 51 to work to its full potential, making it a waste? (i end in question marks there because i'm not sure what i'm talking about sorry if this offends you grammar freaks :bald: ) i'm now deciding against it because of the above factors and there's going to be a reworked version of it out in 6 months to a year as someone stated somewhere.

thanks. any input will be greatly appreciated

edit: great website you guys got going on here. can tell everyone's question (no matter what the level of noobosity) gets answered.

it's a beautiful thing when pro computer nerds share their knowledge with the pro noobs. (don't mean nerd in an offensive way. just the modern terminology of the group. hey i'd be a comp nerd if i could. hopefully this site will bring me one step closer to that goal one thread at a time.) lol i just went on and on. sorry bout that

Old 12-31-2003, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie

well, do you plan on upgrading or replacing your computer within the next 2-3 years? I think it'll be at LEAST that long before windows and general software really catches up to the point where 64 bit will be necessary. you're right. NOW, it'd be a complete waste.

Old 01-01-2004, 04:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Quote:
Originally posted by MojoInKansas