64 bit processing and 32 bit programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2006, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default 64 bit processing and 32 bit programs

Hello all, first post here. Was hoping to find some aid in my current situation.

I just purchased a Lenovo thinkCentre m52 with 3.4ghz intel pentium 4 processor 650 w/HT technology, 3 gb ram, windows xpp.

Now this computer is twice as fast as any other computer i've ever owned. I'm trying to run2 clients of hte same program at the same time, but i freeze or computer restarts when this happens. I am told this is because the program is a few years old and only 32 bit therefor i'm only able to run 1 client.

is there anyway around this without reinstalling an 32 bit OS? I ran 2 to 3 clients on a computer with 1/2 the power but with the same OS just 32 bit.

Has anyoen else encountered this issue running on the 64 bit computing processors with older programs that were released when we only had 32 bit computing processors?

Any help i can find in how to run two to three of these clients at once would be greatly appreciated. Oh the client is a game client, shadowbane.
__________________

Shadda is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

XP Pro Is 32 Bit.

Why not tell us the Actual names of the programs your trying to run.

Also, all programs that run on XP Home and XP Pro are 32 Bit even though the OS may support a 64 Bit Processor.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

the client program is Shadowbane.

its just weird i'm seeing 64 bit computing under the computer details as a 'yes' and microsoft tech is telling me i need to buy and install the 32 bit OS.

Or, is it that the processor is 64 bit. would that effect the program?
Shadda is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 01:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Im pretty sure that processor is not 64 Bit.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Its not. None of the p4's are 64 bit. Sorry.

Sorry didnt know that.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 01:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

His P4 is a 6xx series which supports both 32-bit and 64-bit computing with Intel Extended Memory 64 Technology
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 01:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ah Ok.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 01:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Interesting...sorry about the mistake on the information.

So it supporst both 32 bit and 64 bit computing. So my problem wouldn't be in that area then. Just can't seem to find where it would be.

I thought it could possibly be in the graphics area, the computer comes with a graphics intel chipset? Maybe thats not enough to run it and i should push for a new nvidia card?
__________________

Shadda is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.