32 or 64 bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2007, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Default 32 or 64 bit

I have a processor thats 64 bit compatible but what is the difference between 32 and 64 bit for windows vista?
__________________

kvbutler is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

the only major difference is patchguard. which is in the 64 bit version. really though, its not worth it. stick with the 32 bit version
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ECTech
the only major difference is patchguard. which is in the 64 bit version. really though, its not worth it. stick with the 32 bit version
patchguard? :question:

wouldnt it make sense for the 64-bit version to do better then the 32-bit version but can still do everything that the 32-bit version can do too?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

A 64 bit processor can address more than 4gb of RAM, which a 32bit processor can't do.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

PatchGuard... http://blogs.msdn.com/windowsvistase...11/695993.aspx

i agree, i wonder if you could run XP or Vista using Virtual PC 2007?
ECTech is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Deathawk
A 64 bit processor can address more than 4gb of RAM, which a 32bit processor can't do.
well that's no problem for me, i was planning on getting 2 x 2GB DDR3 SDRAM next year anyways, so im good .
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

The other major difference is driver and software support. The 32 Bit Vista has more drivers and more software support than the 64 Bit. the 64 Bit has about as much as XP X64 which isnt much.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Stick with 32-Bit until we start seeing more 64-Bit application and Support come out.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 07:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
The other major difference is driver and software support. The 32 Bit Vista has more drivers and more software support than the 64 Bit. the 64 Bit has about as much as XP X64 which isnt much.
Yep, to go along with what everyone else said.
My friend works in the governemnt, computer guru doing something. He's got it all, CPU, 3TB of space..etc lol

Some systems run 64bit edition, some run 32bit edition, he said the 64bit edition actually runs 20% slower however it accepts and unlimited amount of memory usage (The amount of cache from CPU, RAM amount & video card amount), but says 32bit only supports upto 4gigs between all of that. Not sure if thats true, but he says thats the only good thing about 64bit edition over 32 he states.
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default

64-bit won't be mainstream and well supported until at least the next version of Windows, if not later. I don't know why the majority of modern processors are 64-bit when it really isn't needed yet. By the time it is mainstream, everyone will be getting new computers anyway.
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.