30 days left for activation, why?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2004, 02:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default 30 days left for activation, why??

I have just got my new pc working, and it keeps on saying "30 days left for activation." when i put my coa number in there, it would go away but 5 minutes later it comes back, how do i get it to go away for good?

I'm not using my XP Pro cd, but my coa number that came with mine.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 03:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

did you activate online or over the phone?
__________________

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 03:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to MST3kGeek
Default

I'm geussing its a 30 day trial cdkey
__________________
\"Shhhh, he\'s talking about his area\"
MST3kGeek is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 10:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

its not a 30 day trial, it was on my other pc for about a week, than i got annoyed with the slowness, so i formatted it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^click activate by telephone. Call the 800 number and if you have to speak to a rep, just tell them you did a reinstall because of spyware or a virus. I do it all day.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne
Default

You should be able to input your key into that activation wizzard. If not call them like the others have said... just wait till you hear the automated key activation system... youll be yelling hatefull things at that def automated voice in no time. =)
__________________
Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 12:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^then you get someone on the phone from guam whom you cant understand
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 02:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

also, at my school the pc's have a xp pro coa number on the side, and i think it is unused because they have 2000 professional on all the pc's (unless if someone else had the same idea as me). would that be better than shouting at some person who probally wouldn't understand what im saying.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 77
Default

No, you will encounter no problems if you call Windows Technical Support. If you explain that you had to re-install Windows and it will not register, they will give you another number with little or no hassle. Believe me I have done it before.
__________________
-Pentium IV 2.6C w/Hyper Threading Technology
-1GB DDR PC3200 RAM
-Radeon 9800 XT
-120GB 10,000 RPM SATA HD
-52x 48x 52x Sony CD Rom Drive
-16x DVD R/RW Drive
-Windows XP Professional
-Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
-Intel i875 800MHZ FSB motherboard
-1.44 MB Floppy Drive
-Thermaltake Pro case
Jonesie is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 02:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Windows XP Home and Professional Editions require the user to activate Windows before the 30-day trial period ends via either telephone or internet.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.