30 days to activate XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2007, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default 30 days to activate XP

I have a question regarding the computer I built.

I just installed Windows XP with a disk I had lying around. A message keeps saying I have 30 days to activate it. I tried to activate it and it wouldnÂ’t let me. I guess because it has been activated already a while ago (I think I remember doing it a little while ago on my old computer). My question is what happens at the end of the 30 days? Does my computer blow up? jk - but seriously, what is going to happen?
__________________

stepnkev is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Dunnue what happens.

Just call MS and say you need a new key, you reformated because of a virus or something. If they ask about other computers, say this is the ONLY one you ever used that disk on.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default

At the end of 30 days, your computer won't fully boot to Windows. It will just boot to the login screen and not allow you to go any farther until it is activated (which it will allow you to do).

You should be able to activate even though it has been activated before, provided you are only using the OS on one computer. I have done it successfully. You will have to activate over the phone. When it doesn't allow you to activate with the automated system, it will send you to a live representative. They will ask you to explain your situation. You will tell them that you are doing a complete system upgrade and you are only using the OS on this one computer. They will give you the code, and it will work. I've done it before more than once. If you are using the OS on more than one computer, then you will risk the wrath of Microsoft.

ps If you tell them that this is the ONLY computer that you have ever used this disk on, they will know that you are lying, and they may not help you. Your COA number is already on file and they know it has been activated before.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by forrestcupp



ps If you tell them that this is the ONLY computer that you have ever used this disk on, they will know that you are lying, and they may not help you. Your COA number is already on file and they know it has been activated before.
Not true, I have done it three times before. And they did help me, and I did get all three installations activated.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Just call M$. There should be a number there when you try to activate. Tell them you had a HDD crash and had to re-install. They will give you the code to re-install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 02:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Not true, I have done it three times before. And they did help me, and I did get all three installations activated.
it's really not true on a prebuilt computer. the companies use corporate xp than they slapped a different serial on the side of the computer as they paid for that serial
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

If MS wont help you (which they should) just crack the *******..we'll show them
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.