2nd hard drive question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2007, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
TKF's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default 2nd hard drive question

We installed a 2nd HD in my friends computer and cloned everything off the old HD to the new,
Hes wanting to format the old HD and do a clean reinstall of xp home on it and use it as his main drive again.
The question is would there be any kind of conflict between 2 HDs with the same copy of the OS on them on the same computer if theres only 1 HD connected at a time?
And is it possable to do it this way? without creating any problems,

Thanks for any help

TKF is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: 2nd hard drive question

I doubt this would work but you can try. You would want a dual boot OS. Did you make the second harddrive C: also?

Osiris is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,120
Default Re: 2nd hard drive question

If you want to completely get rid of the one OS...then download Killdisk/burn it. Put it in the try, shutdown, unplug the HDD that you want to keep, and then start up. Wipe the drive (will probly take about an hour, depending on the size of the drive that is). Then you can shut down, plug you rmain drive back in, and then format the newly-erased drive as NTFS, or do whatever you want with it.

I've done this several times...its a lengthy process but works.

Edit: May have misread the question... If you wanna do that, you can just set the drive that you want as your main drive as the primary boot drive in the BIOS, and then it should be fine. I have XP on one drive, and Vista/Ubuntu dual-boot on another drive. I use XP mainly, so I have that as my primary boot drive, and if I wanna boot into either of the others, I just go to my boot menu, and select to boot off of that drive.
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: 2nd hard drive question

it will work. I've done it a million times.

I usually give dj's 3-4 different xp partition plus a my documents partition.

I install xp on a 20-30 gig partition. I then install drivers and updates. I also activate it.

I then clone it to the partitions. you see, a lot of studio software (reasons, fruity loop, protools, acid, guitar etc.) conflicts with each other. dj's usually want all of them and they constantly get BSOD.

I do this to resolve this issue. I install certain software on certain partitions. sometime I edit the boot.ini to rename each one

like this. at boot, you will have names like this

regular xp
DJ Name's Sound editor
Protools partition
Xtra partition

other times, I hid the other OS partition and use Partition magic PQ boot for windows to boot to whichever one they need to get to.

you keep all of them as c drive this way was and it make installing programs easier


I got an unexpected side effect from doing it.
each version of xp is blazing fast in this manner and they stay fast
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
TKF's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: 2nd hard drive question

Thanks for all the replies and info.
He is just wanting to do a clean install on his old HD
and have the HD with the cloned copy to fall back on until he gets the clean install the way he wants it.
Hope he doesn't screw it up beyond repair

Will follow up with the outcome when he gets done.

Thanks again
TKF is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with sata hard drive busa4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 11-05-2007 01:19 AM
Question about hard drive partitions in Vista ? weswes Microsoft Windows and Software 0 06-05-2007 01:46 PM
Replacing hard drive question, please answer Dio1080 Sony Playstation 2 04-25-2007 11:49 AM
External Hard Drive causing problems mel6280 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-15-2007 02:41 PM
Question on hard drive quality? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-27-2007 11:48 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.