25gb USED!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2005, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default 25gb USED!?

I just reformatted my laptop. It is a compaq v2030us. It was a hard recovery and it wiped everything clean but for some reason the C: drive still had all of my old program folders in there even though they werent in my programs menu or the desktop. I installed all of my programs... maybe one gig MAX (spybot, gmail notifier, etc.) nothing major and then I went to do a disk defrag and it says free space is 29.5/55gb!!! This strikes me as VERY odd. I cant figure it out. I have a 60gb hard drive. I tried the temps, recycle bin, all the obvious stuff and I dont know where the rest is. Even before the recovery I didnt have that much. The recovery disk I used started from windows autoplay and then went to restart and go into that blue screen. Is it possible that windows partioned all my old files somewhere? Where would they have gone?

Thanks
__________________

hah2110 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Download a permanent deleter. Anything deleted is recoverable (with a recovery program) unless you permanently delete it. I don't know if this will fix ur problem, but it is worth a try.
BTW, did you do a quick format or a full format?
__________________

dnoch is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

sounds like he used a compaq recovery
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

you need to do an fdisk an full format..
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 11:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I have done reformats before- and never had this problem... i used the actual windows installation disk that came with my compaq to do a full clean install.... even before the reformat though i didnt have 25gb of data.... can someone tell me where this data is.
hah2110 is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 04:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

When you selected to format, did you choose quick format or full format?
dnoch is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 09:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I just said, I did a full clean install. There was no quick or full persay. But I chose the one that should have wiped EVERYTHING clean. Even HP confirmed it
hah2110 is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 10:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Are there any partitions on the hard drive? Does HP have one of those set up? What i mean is did HP partition your HDD and use that partition as your recovery disc? You might have to use FDisk and delete all partitions and then reformat.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 12:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Do a search result for file and folder and specify the size from 50MB to 100MB or more, maybe some large file will show up.
Law is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 01:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

searching now, when i reformatted, there was only a 8mb partition... i really cant figure this out- besides no partition is 27gb
__________________

hah2110 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.