2 reformating question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default 2 reformating question

A Friend has an older gateway 4600 which originally came with ME on it but long ago was upgraded with xp home cd from GW .
He's wanting to reformat,he still has the xp upgrade cd(2002 version)and 2-xp companion cds.

1-Would it still be possible to do this with the xp upgrade cd if so how would he go about it? And.

2- If so could he create a new cd with all updates on it?

Thanks for any help
__________________

TKF is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 04:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default Re: 2 reformating question

If he only has the Windows XP UPGRADE disk he will not be able to install Windows XP onto a formated hard drive.
If you can find the Windows ME install disk (not upgrade) or even a Windows 2000 install disk. Install that, then use the Windows XP upgrade disk that would work.
__________________

poorman is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: 2 reformating question

i think the upgrade disk is only to upgrade xp itself i think, never knew you could buy an upgrade of xp and install it on top of me

maybe it is an installtion disk and he sees it has upgrading his pc.

just a thought
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: 2 reformating question

I was thinking the same thing poorman hes just trying to clean up his system, I figured reformatting was his best option.

But would there be a quicker way then reinstalling me (not sure if he still has original me cd and key to activate)
And then upgrading to xp and then having to get window updates and patches if still possable.

jay bo he purchased system with me on it right before xp came out so he raised h*ll with GW to gave him a upgrade.
Its a legit xp home cd and has upgrade on it

Thanks for the help
TKF is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: 2 reformating question

You can use the Upgrade disc to do a fresh install. But it will ask for a OS disc during install. So you will need the ME disc or 98 Disc to complete the install. But you can use it to do a fresh install with.

nlite can create a new CD with all updates. But i dont think it would work with the Upgrade Version. I think it would only work with the full version.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: 2 reformating question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
You can use the Upgrade disc to do a fresh install. But it will ask for a OS disc during install. So you will need the ME disc or 98 Disc to complete the install. But you can use it to do a fresh install with.

nlite can create a new CD with all updates. But i dont think it would work with the Upgrade Version. I think it would only work with the full version.
agreed
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 07:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: 2 reformating question

Thanks Makaveli & Eric I remember reading somewhere that you can't get older updates and patches anymore.
Not sure if that would make any difference. He has all the updates and patch on his system now would there be away to copy them to a flash drive and reinstall them to the fresh install?

Thanks
TKF is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 09:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: 2 reformating question

The best thing to do is get AutoPatcher. But those only go from SP2 and on. Before SP2 all the updates are included in SP2 so that doesnt really matter.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM
Question using RadioButton in VB.Net punkin Programming 4 07-08-2007 11:20 PM
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 11:45 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.