2 or more OS' at once? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2005, 05:15 PM   #31 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tribalsun
Impossible? No. Extremely frustrating and confusing? Absolutely!

Take the time to read about it and get familiar with it. People often jump feet first into Linux expecting it to be some what like Windows but only "free". Then when they realise just how different it is they either give up on it or take the time to learn about it. I highly suggest learning about it first.

Follow the links I provided, allot of good information is to be found there.
Where the live cd link? I didn't see it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 05:21 PM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Linux Live CD's

That is the link to the X-86 CD's, you can sort them however you choose.
__________________

tribalsun is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 05:29 PM   #33 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tribalsun
Linux Live CD's

That is the link to the X-86 CD's, you can sort them however you choose.
thanks. x-86 mean 64bit don't it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 05:33 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Your'e welcome, X-86 is 32 bit, you can sort it to find X-86 64 bit as well.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 06:21 PM   #35 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I downloading knoppix now. I'll check out one of the 64 bit versions of linux
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 07:47 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

how can different versons of linux be easier than others?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 01:16 AM   #37 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

this happen everytime I use a linux boot cd. the language is german. how can I make it american on knoppix 3.8? you can tell that the option is there because during booting it's American
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 01:19 AM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

lol that sucks dude ! good luck with that. i havent had the time yet to try the live cd yet. i plan on doing it before my next build.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 05:38 AM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
this happen everytime I use a linux boot cd. the language is german. how can I make it american on knoppix 3.8? you can tell that the option is there because during booting it's American
Hehe, Slax did that to me and it took me forever to find the language setting. I found this on another forum, it might work.

Quote:
If you want english all you have to do is type this into console minus the quotes "knoppix lang=us" The "=" sign is obtained by pressing SHIFT+0.
If that doesn't work then try this, it should be an English version.

Knoppix 3.9
tribalsun is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 01:46 PM   #40 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I Don't know how I missed this. thanks, I am downloading now
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.