2 harddrives, 1 not showing up in My Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2004, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to tyledogg Send a message via Yahoo to tyledogg
Default 2 harddrives, 1 not showing up in My Computer

Rite, i have 2 harddrives on my computer, one with Windows XP Pro and the other with Mandrake Linux 10. My problem is the Mandrake Linux HD wont show up in My Computer.

tyledogg is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

could it be because mandrake is formatted with something other than FAT or NTFS? if something completely fails it always something very obvious and simple. it could also be that the hard disk has completely failed or is not connected properly. the first thing to check is what file system is mandrake formatted with.

i'm re-reading your question. I don't know what you mean exactly by "won't show up". which operating system is it booting to? are you trying to access the mandrake hard disk through winXP? is the hard disk being detected in the BIOS on bootup?

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260

First, check if the BIOS detect "both" drives. If not, you prolly have set your jumper wrong or your HD is not properly connected.
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

few questions:

1: what partition ur Mandrake is on? FAT32/NTFS/Linux?

2: u dont see H/D from Windows or Mandrake? or both?
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

dual boot is one thing but to access a linux drive from XP u would need 3rd party software to read... guess it depends on the file allocation table that u are using for linux
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.