2 Explorer.exe processes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2005, 05:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Default 2 Explorer.exe processes

I am so tired of getting one problem sorted to stumble upon another, it's never ending!

My computer loads two Explorer.exe's, their are two of these processes running in the background.

I know that this is Window's Graphical Interface, the desktop - what I am working with - how you access Window's.

Sometimes and mostly, what is set to load on boot, ie Firewall and Anti-Virus, are running in the background as they are displayed in Task Manager but they are no were to be seen in the System Tray.

It really seems like Windows has loaded twice some how but I doubt that is possible as my computer wouldn't be able to handle that.
__________________

Oscillator is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 06:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Is it explorer or Iexplorer.exe?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 06:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Default

It is Explorer.exe spelt with a capital E,

I would not have gotten that wrong, Iexplorer.exe would not be on the same scale in any capacity,

I don't have Internet Explorer any more, well I have deleted it has much as humanly possible from my harddrive but not the Registry, my reason 'Ie6 Not Loading Any Pages',

this all started happened after trying to download IE6 once again but it always stalls, then on restarting my computer, it was a complete mess, all the Desktop setting were switched to large icons, 16bit instead of 32bit, desktop icons underlined, folder settings changed etc etc etc,

now I have to have the folders set to view in list form which is my perferred setting any hows but you can't view them any other way.
Oscillator is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 07:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

shoulda never delete IE from computer. just don't use it.
try a repair install of windows that should fix it.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Default

It wasn't IE being deleted that done it,

my computer worked great with it gone,

it worked fine for a few weeks until I decided to attempt the IE6 download again,

I knew no one would have a clue as it is one of those problems, I always fix my own stuff but it was worth finding out if Explorer.exe was ever running twice for anyone else.
Oscillator is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 09:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

never for me. nor have i heard of it. does it show the same info for both? could be a virus hanging out pretending to be explorer
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 10:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Default

well that is the first thoughts that come to mind,

it could always just be one of those imprefections that you get with Windows and all other software,

these are real annoyances that play on the mind as to what the fucl< they are,

I may be over paronoid but I sometimes think it is someone working on my computer from another Graphical Interface while I am working on the other,*óú*
Oscillator is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Default

see the *óú* this sometimes happens with Opera, anything I type comes up like that, I have to close Opera and reopen,

when I did it there it opened a window,

Quote:
Another user is running this copy of Opera.

You should install Opera with individual profiles to allow multiple users to run the same copy independently.
This is my computer, that only I use with only my profile.


Funny thing is stuff always happens on this site, whether it be originating from here or just that I usually have this site opened I have yet to investigate. When you think about it, the Mods with all user details are probably and more than likely interested in hacking and cracking even though they refuse to let us talk about it.
Oscillator is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Are you still having the original problem with your explorer.exe(2) ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Default

sometimes, there is no consistency, it loads 2 sometimes and sometimes doesn't,

the Opera problem has happened long before that but because it just occurred I brought it up in dialogue, it also stalls a lot with a press of ctrl, alt, delete usually sorting it out but a significant amount of the time I have to restart the computer,

there is another problem as well with the screen loading pink sometimes,

I have posted about them before but no one has ever solved them and I do no a bit or two myself,

I am using Firefox, a lot of stuff that as all built up, but until I get money I can't get a new computer.
__________________

Oscillator is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.