16 Bit MS DOS Subsystem Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2006, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default 16 Bit MS DOS Subsystem Error

Help I have this comming up and not letting me load new software
C:\WINDOWS\system32\pcpbios.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT the system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose Close to terminate the application.
__________________

ljane29 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Are you running XP X64? If so it cant handle 16 bit applications. Only 32 bit and 64 bit.

Also how old is the app? If it is from 95 or so then maybe even XP cant handle it. Some really old apps dont run on XP that well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://windowsxp.mvps.org/16bit.htm
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.