the 137gig barrier update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default the 137gig barrier update

Hi all,

I installed windows 2k (not service packed) on a 160 gig (is detected as that in DOS) a while back and have been using it ever since max'ed out at 137 gig (in windows), created partitions etc...... well I have now updated 2k to sp4 and was wondering what the outcome would be if I undertake the instructions directed from this link (the 137 gig fix):

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;305098

would I just get the additional space detected by windows as unallocated / not formated ?

And what is the risk of data loss from my other partitions? would they be lost? basically what is the risk of performing this update.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

Dazz123 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

It would show up in computer management as unallocated space which you will have to format it in order to use it. Is it risky? Sure it is. But what do you have to lose? Then back up your data.

You’ll be fine, it usually go smoothly for some. Just backup your data incase something goes wrong.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Searching does help:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=79821
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

just when following the guide when it asks u to put in a key value of "0x1" well in the regedit it will not let me enter the "x". Any help appreciated.
Dazz123 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

0x means its hexadecimal.

0x0 translates to 0x00000000 but it’s shorter to write it as 0x0.

So what M$ is saying is that when you add that new entry it’s default value data will be 0, so you need to change it to 1 to turn it on. Similar to 0x1 which is 0x00000001

Get it?
Law is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 01:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

so just put "1" in ?
Dazz123 is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

just to let people know, i put 1 in and it worked, showed the unallocated space that it was not detecting.

Thanks for everyones help.
__________________

Dazz123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.