100% CPU Usage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2004, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default 100% CPU Usage

I'm not a new computer user but am far from an expert. I'm having a couple of problems I can't seem to fix.

First, yesterday my computer (running Windows XP Professional) began running very choppy and slow. I checked and my CPU usage was at 100%. When I looked at the processes I have one process called regvss.exe that running the CPU usage from 34 to 65 to 94 and then back down and it starts all over again. When I click on in and tell it to end process...it comes right back.

I searched for these regvss.exe and found it was located in C:/Windows/Prefect. What should I do now. Can I delete it?

Also, when looking at my desktop I noticed that there was something in my recycle bin. When I opened the bin there is nothing present BUT if I click the empty bin button it asks me if I want to delete the "system file" windows??????????

Help!
__________________

sassylittlewitc is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I did a google on the file and it didn't turn up any results. Maybe its regsvr.exe?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Several things... Chech your registy for the key in HKey_local_machine\software\microsoft\windows\curr entverion\run
see if that is there or if there are suspicious paths there. Also, check your running services, as it's possible you have A. a virus, B. another form of malware that has gotten installed and is doing this to you.
CWShreader might be good to run as well as adaware se and any virus program you have. See what shows up...

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I did the same thing...googled the file...but its definately regvss.exe. I'm so completely frustrated and LOST without my computer.
sassylittlewitc is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

HELLO Inaris from Anchorage....I'm in Fairbanks!
sassylittlewitc is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

It could be a Trojan. They can have a custom name in your processes. Do a full virusscan. Also check for spyware like Inaris said.

Download *CWShredder here: http://www.techist.com/downloads.php
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.