10-15s freezes on Internet - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2004, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 220
Default 10-15s freezes on Internet

Recently my computer has started to freeze on the Internet for 10-15 seconds before returning to normal. I am unable to do anything while it is frozen. It seems to occur randomly but particularly when signing into MSN messenger. I have Norton anti-virus installed and regularly carry out checks on a weekly basis. I also have McAfee personal firewall installed. Could it be the firewall, which is causing these persistant freezes. I am using AOL but I do not think that this has anything to do with this.

Can anyone suggest why it keeps doing this?
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.therandomgamer.com">
<img src="http://www.therandomgamer.com/images/header.jpg">
<p>Gaming Blog and Forum
</a>
Retro is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 05:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434
Default

The firewall can do it but do you have a anti-spyware program on your computer like ad aware?

Like i said the firewall can do it so turn it off and surf the internet and if it doesnt do it then that is what it is.

If it still does it, turn off norton and then try surfing the internet.

I would also recommen getting rid of AOL. It is expensive and worthless. Get regular dial up or go with broadband. Both of which arent too much more expensive depending on what area your in.
__________________

__________________
CCNA, CCNP, A+, N+.
________________
I agrue with people.|
--------------------------
digital_darknes is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 03:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Yeh I have ad aware and use it regularly and rarely does anything come up. I'll try using the Internet without the anti-virus, and firewall software. I have a feeling it might be Norton anti-virus trying to get live updates. Good point about AOL, Im currently on AOL BROADBAND and want to change as soon as possible. Problem is I heard from someone that it does not uninstall itself fully and can affect other ISPs on your machine, i.e. cause them to not work etc. Apparently the only way to get rid of it is to format your HD completely. It just ruins our right to free choice.

Anyway thanks for the help.
__________________
<a href="http://www.therandomgamer.com">
<img src="http://www.therandomgamer.com/images/header.jpg">
<p>Gaming Blog and Forum
</a>
Retro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.