xp home to xp pro on laptop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2009, 11:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: xp home to xp pro on laptop

Microsoft has nothing to do with the purchase. They dont sell PC's, they only sell the OS to the Manufacturer. So it is up to the discreation of the the PC Manufacturer if they would upgrade it or not.

Microsoft made their money long before this transaction occured. They get their money when they sell the OS to the Manufacturer. After that it is not up to them what happens.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: xp home to xp pro on laptop

Sounds like the IT person needs to:
A)admit they screwed up and correct the issue. Even if that means taking the 130 dollars or so for the purchase out of their own pocket
B)admit they screwed up and have the company purchase the new OS
C)find a new place of work if the owner is wanting to practice unethical behavior by hacking an OS

Just admit they screwed the pooch and fix it. Don't try to 'hack' or 'make home work.' You are just going to make the situation worse.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 08:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: xp home to xp pro on laptop

Very True Lex. Very True.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Install XP Home on Toshiba Laptop zaarenoc Laptops and Notebooks 4 01-10-2009 07:15 AM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM
Bonds slugs No. 756 to pass Aaron as home run king Osiris Off Topic Discussion 20 08-14-2007 03:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.