would counter strike 1.6 work on my laptop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2008, 02:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: would counter strike 1.6 work on my laptop

Sorry to tell you but CS 1.6 is only online. Unless you create a server and play against bots. But there is no way to have your friends join you then.

So if you are trying to play with others. BUY the game. It isnt that expensive from Steam.

Counter-Strike on Steam

$10 for the game. Isnt that expensive.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 03:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: would counter strike 1.6 work on my laptop

Well you can use hamachi, but its a hassle and you cant host a lot of guys without lag.

But yeah $10 is nothing.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 04:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: would counter strike 1.6 work on my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Sorry to tell you but CS 1.6 is only online. Unless you create a server and play against bots. But there is no way to have your friends join you then.

So if you are trying to play with others. BUY the game. It isnt that expensive from Steam.

Counter-Strike on Steam

$10 for the game. Isnt that expensive.
well that bursted my bubble. every thing has been going wrong for me today
computer newbie is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: would counter strike 1.6 work on my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spit-wad View Post
idk... I know you can do it in condition zero, but i've never done it in 1.6 or source...
Go to steam apps stuff and see if you can download "counterstrike singleplayer" or something
Well, from experience, CZ requires more power than 1.6.

I could run CS moderately well from an alright laptop. What's your video card? Your processor and ram should be adequate to run the game, I use to play on less. Also do an internet search for tips on lowering fps, there are numerous commands. If you can also disable vertical sync in graphics properties, it helps boost fps.
__________________

rob91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
counter strike 2 Poizen22 PC Gaming 47 03-28-2008 02:19 AM
Burned by a MacBook Osiris Apple and Mac 8 07-23-2007 09:51 PM
Counter strike source on a crapy G C dog123 PC Gaming 4 04-20-2007 07:35 AM
scrollbars on laptop won't work davematthews Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-17-2007 02:58 PM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.