Windows XP on old Gateway - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2010, 01:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default Windows XP on old Gateway

I recently aquired a gateway 400sd4 laptop computer and and now I have an issue with it. Windows will no longer load, and the computer claims that a file is corrupt and and needs to be reinstalled. The bottom of the laptop has a product key on it, which I assume is for windows, so is there a way that I can use this product key to get a new copy of XP or is there a way to repair this copy of windows? Or must I get an all new copy of windows? I hope this makes sense, and I appreciate help! thanks!
__________________

Chimera778 is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 02:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Windows XP on old Gateway

If it does have xp on it and you have a disk you can try a repair install.

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install

The product key should say what version of Windows it is for.
Gateway Support - Frequently Asked Questions list forWhere is the Microsoft Certificate of Authenticity sticker located?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 02:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Windows XP on old Gateway

UNfortunately I do not have a disc.

The exact message when I turn the computer on is
"Windows could not start because the following file is corrupt or missing: <windows root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe. Please reinstall a copy of the above file"

Does that help make the problem easier to identify?
Chimera778 is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows XP on old Gateway

Without a disk you will be outta luck. As XP is no longer for sale. On top of that can you verify that the COA Sticker is for XP?

The file missing is the Kernel for the OS. You need a disk to proceed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gateway GT5220 and Windows 7 Griggs2121 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 10-31-2009 09:42 PM
Gateway to gateway VPN SBS ISA firewall heals1ic Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 10-20-2006 06:34 PM
Windows XP - default gateway.. marulk2 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-10-2006 04:47 PM
Windows Gateway Problem xcel_007 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 07-27-2006 01:49 PM
old gateway icehawk519 System Upgrades 2 08-14-2005 11:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.