windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2010, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Default windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery

hi everyone,

I have a sony Vaio VGN-AR390E that runs on windows vista. since yesterday when starting the laptop it fails to start windows, but rather get a black screen full of $ signs, which then leads me to another black screen that gives me the options to start windows normally or perform windows recovery. when i select run windows normally, all i get is a black screen. and when i run windows recovery, it goes threw the recovery process but then it says the recovery could not be performed automatically.

i have also tried pressing F8 at vaio logo to get more options such as safe mode, but also leads me to the same screen again of the $ signs. and as well by pressing F10 i get to the recovery center and performing recovery doesn't work, i did a hardware diagnostic which says that everything is ok. i have a recent back up of all my files and there for don't need to run data restore.

when i first bought my laptop 3 years ago i had to make two recovery disks which i also tried running but they don't get recognized


can any one please help me ??

thank you much appreciated

kind regards
__________________

mataharimata is offline  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery

Do you have a Recovery Partition? It usually says to click an F# button on the system startup splash.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-26-2010, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery

Hit F10 during the boot process. Just like you would hit F8 to get to the Advanced Boot Menu. this will bring you to the Sony Recovery Partition if it is available. There you can use a Restore Point or roll back to factory settings.

For the CD's to work you have to enter the BIOS and make sure that the Optical Drive is set to boot before the Hard Drive.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 07:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Ok, finally F8 is working!! I am running a Start up repair... will keep you posted... or is there any other direction i should take? thanks!!

ok... i ran "repair your computer" and nothing... after restart the $ signs and black screen appeared again.. however windows does run in safe mode..

I did go through F10 and did Restore Point and backdated it to 5 days ago... nothing happened... i tried doing it several times but get the $ signs and black screen after again...
mataharimata is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery

Try backing it to factory settings.

Might want to run chkdsk /r /f and sfc /scannow in cmd (command prompt)
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 08:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Hi and thanks you for your help!
F8 is working but choosing any of the options has not brought me to a solution... or may be i am not doing it right... i ran "repair your computer" and nothing... after restart the $ signs and black screen appeared again.. however windows does run in safe mode.. I did go through F10 and did Restore Point and backdated it to 5 days ago... nothing happened... i tried doing it several times but get the $ signs and black screen after again...

I do have 2 recovery disks which i made when i first bought my computer but as my CD drive is not working i need to run it through an external CD drive which i luckily have... however i don't know how to boot from an external CD drive... I don't either know how to get to the command prompt... i am sorry i am not too much of a computer expert so please help me...
Thank you!!

at one point i also got to a black screen saying:
File: \windows\system32\hal.dll
status: 0xc000000f
info: windows failed to load because the HAL is missing, or corrupt

Everything i do leads me to Vaio Recovery Center...

i am in commandprompt, when i type in C:\>chkdsk /r /f i get : the type of the file system is NTFS. cannot lock current drive.

Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process.
chkdsk may run if this volume is dismounted first. ALL OPENED HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID. WOULD YOU LIKE TO FORCE A DISMOUNT ON THIS VOLUME? <Y/N>

also tried :

C:\>cmd
Microsoft Windows <version 6.0.6000>

C:\>sfc /scannow
beginning system scan. this process will take some time.
windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation.
mataharimata is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery

IIRC, F10 brings you the Recovery Partition, not Restore Point.

To boot from any Optical device, it has to be first in Boot Order, in BIOS.

Missing Hal.dll - Missing Or Corrupt Hal.dll Error Message in Windows XP - Fix Hal.dll
You want to be at the Vaio Recovery Center, not Window's. Do a factory reset.

I'm not sure about the last part.

Edit: Use the edit button, do not triple post.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Default Re: windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery

ok.. I am in BIOS by pressing F2.. I've enabled external drive boot.. and the options that i have to boot from are:
1. USB flash drive (which is the one i thought i should select for the external CD drive..?).
2. Floppy drive.
3. Internal optical drive
4. Internal hard disk drive
5. Network

it doesn't work... the computer doesn't boot from the external CD drive... what i am doing wrong..?

Also.. should i do something with the link that you sent me about the missing or corrupt hal.dll?
mataharimata is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery

That is how you fix the error. That is the error you are receiving, correct?

Can you test the CD itself on another computer? To verify the CD is OK?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Default Re: windows vista fails to perform automatic recovery

Yes. this is the error, however i only saw the error once... i think the problem is bigger than this.. as windows doesn't start and i get the screens full of $$$ signs and then just black screen.... do you think i still need to proceed with fixing this error if we are trying to wipe the whole system and bring it back to factory settings..?

The CD works on another computer and I am copying all the files from the Recovery CD to a USB pen drive... there are over 4 GB of files so lets see if it will boot from the USB drive.. Will edit this post if there is any progress .. thanks!

ok... i copied the Recovery CD to a USB pen drive and as soon as the $$$ signs screen comes up there is a message on top of the same screen - No footeble pavtiton in table_

What should i do..?
__________________

mataharimata is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows error recovery - vista changsterdj Laptops and Notebooks 0 09-13-2009 01:04 AM
Why isn't Windows Vista SP2 automatic? bagelred Microsoft Windows and Software 8 09-10-2009 11:41 AM
How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista? LincolnX Microsoft Windows and Software 11 02-28-2008 11:16 AM
Sony System Recovery fails, now NTLDR is missing. Sherwoood Microsoft Windows and Software 8 06-20-2006 01:22 AM
How to use the Automatic Recovery feature to recover your computer if the Windows XP Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-04-2005 06:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.