Will i5 work in my Laptop? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2012, 07:57 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Run a virus scan too. A virus can jack your CPU usage to 100% easily and leave it there.
It's a brand new laptop, I uninstalled all of the rubbish that comes with it already, that's all I've done

Here are my processors:


It only really goes to 100% when I'm opening windows and stuff.
__________________

Telepot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:48 PM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Well that's just normal for a slower dual core.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:30 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

I thought you meant it was always at 100%. If it's only doing it when opening windows; that's normal.
You could always turn off Aero to cut usage a little bit.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:10 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 34
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

it will be difficult to you and i think you should not upgrade your laptop because its really expensive . so you can buy new laptop at the same cost.
everton158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:10 PM   #25 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

^ actually, not true. I upgraded my t5500 to an x9100 for $160 bucks. 2.0Ghz 800fsb =-> 3.01Ghz 1066 fsb
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Well I'm going out to buy an intel laptop now, I may upgrade that in the future. Hopefully this one is a lot faster
Telepot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:54 PM   #27 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

it will be. Unfortunately intel beats amd
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 02:25 PM   #28 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Fortunately. Intel has had quality products besides Netburst P4 and PD lol.......and slot P3.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:53 AM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 34
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
^ actually, not true. I upgraded my t5500 to an x9100 for $160 bucks. 2.0Ghz 800fsb =-> 3.01Ghz 1066 fsb
whats your laptop brand?
everton158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:29 AM   #30 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Acer 8930G
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Power adapter doesn't work when laptop is on. But it charges the battery when laptop is off TheSkyIsTheLimit Laptops and Notebooks 7 07-23-2012 02:10 AM
Will this ram work with laptop? continu Laptops and Notebooks 2 01-27-2009 02:44 PM
Microphone does not work on new laptop RalliArt882 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 08-16-2008 12:05 AM
Laptop Work Done dykzeulb Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 03-31-2008 11:50 AM
help with a work laptop pat2k5 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-07-2006 01:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.