Will i5 work in my Laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2012, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default Will i5 work in my Laptop?

I am thinking of buying a new processor, simply because the i5 meets the requirements of the work I'll be doing at college. My problem is that my CPU usage is always like 100% :/
I have really done any laptop hardware upgrading, but I think for processor it's just removing the old one and slotting in the new one.

I have had a look around and apparently only certain processors work on certain motherboards.

My PC Specs -
Laptop: Asus X501U



Please tell me if it will work or not, I would not like to buy the CPU and then have it not work
__________________

Telepot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

It's very difficult to upgrade laptop CPUs generally - they're usually soldered to the motherboard - and especially impossible to switch manufacturers. Sorry, but if you want a better CPU you'll need a whole new laptop.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Yeah upgrading laptops are definitely expensive.. In most cases, as Yami said, you're going to have to end up buying an entirely new laptop.

In this case, no, an i5 won't work.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
Yeah upgrading laptops are definitely expensive.. In most cases, as Yami said, you're going to have to end up buying an entirely new laptop.

In this case, no, an i5 won't work.
It's worth a look isn't it? Serisouly, this is a 1Ghz cpu and it's slow, I bought this laptop yesterday. I am wondering if it's worth a look inside to upgrade the CPU? There are a lot of videos YouTube and stuff showing people putting other CPUs inside their laptops.
Telepot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
It's very difficult to upgrade laptop CPUs generally - they're usually soldered to the motherboard - and especially impossible to switch manufacturers. Sorry, but if you want a better CPU you'll need a whole new laptop.
What? I've never seen a laptop CPU soldered onto the board. GPU's yes.. but every laptop I've taken apart, (low end to high end) have had socketed CPU's that are removable.

Anyway... No an i5 won't work because you're on an AMD CPU and an i5 is an Intel CPU, which have entirely different sockets. Generally upgrading the CPU on a laptop is very expensive, and you won't get that great of a gain as far as what's compatible with the CPU (like I said, generally).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Oh, yeah. I was thinking of GPUs xD
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
Oh, yeah. I was thinking of GPUs xD
So I could buy something like an intel i5 and install it my self?
Telepot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Telepot View Post
So I could buy something like an intel i5 and install it my self?
Read my edited post.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

No. Your laptop takes a particular series of CPUs by AMD. It can't take all AMD CPUs let alone any Intel ones.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default Re: Will i5 work in my Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
Oh, yeah. I was thinking of GPUs xD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
No. Your laptop takes a particular series of CPUs by AMD. It can't take all AMD CPUs let alone any Intel ones.
So what would be the best CPU I could get for this then? Could I get a amd phenom ii x6 ?
__________________

Telepot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Power adapter doesn't work when laptop is on. But it charges the battery when laptop is off TheSkyIsTheLimit Laptops and Notebooks 7 07-23-2012 02:10 AM
Will this ram work with laptop? continu Laptops and Notebooks 2 01-27-2009 02:44 PM
Microphone does not work on new laptop RalliArt882 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 08-16-2008 12:05 AM
Laptop Work Done dykzeulb Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 03-31-2008 11:50 AM
help with a work laptop pat2k5 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-07-2006 01:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.