Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2009, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Question Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster??

my laptop is slow with pro tools 7.4 m-powered...when i use the preview on the plugins to hear the live changes to the audio i am making its choppy and has a delay....

for example if i raise the the bass, and move the eq around its always choppy and has a delay....

but...on my desktop (which is slower) has no delay?? they are both hooked up to the same fast track pro usb interface...

heres the specs of both computers:

laptop=slow

2.0 ghz core2duo T7300 4 mb cache
2 gb ddr2 667 mhz
80 gb sata
usb 2.0



desktop=old but faster with pro tools

2.8 ghz pentium D 915 dual core (2 years before core2duo came out)
1 gb ddr2 533 mhz
80 gb IDE hard drive NOT SATA!!
usb 2.0


so why would the desktop outperform the laptop? the laptop is a dell lattitude D630, and it clearly has better hardware....


thanks
__________________

__________________

Corei7 920 OC'd 3.4 ghz @ 1.375 v (6409 3dmarks)
Gigabyte UD5 x58 MB
G.Skill 3x1 GB DDR3 1333 OC'd 1550 @ 1.575 v
2 x GeForce 8800GT 16x16 2.0 SLI OC'd 650 mhz
Western Digital Black HD 32MB Cache 640GB

rave_tech is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster??

Its probably low on battery, or it can't hold a charge on the battery.. when that happens it underclocks significantly to not be a power hog
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster??

battery holds charge its brand new, and lasts 3 hours...

the laptop is just the same when its plugged into the wall as well
__________________

Corei7 920 OC'd 3.4 ghz @ 1.375 v (6409 3dmarks)
Gigabyte UD5 x58 MB
G.Skill 3x1 GB DDR3 1333 OC'd 1550 @ 1.575 v
2 x GeForce 8800GT 16x16 2.0 SLI OC'd 650 mhz
Western Digital Black HD 32MB Cache 640GB

rave_tech is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 09:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster??

Maybe the Laptop has a lot of bloatware
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster??

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Maybe the Laptop has a lot of bloatware
what do you mean?
__________________

Corei7 920 OC'd 3.4 ghz @ 1.375 v (6409 3dmarks)
Gigabyte UD5 x58 MB
G.Skill 3x1 GB DDR3 1333 OC'd 1550 @ 1.575 v
2 x GeForce 8800GT 16x16 2.0 SLI OC'd 650 mhz
Western Digital Black HD 32MB Cache 640GB

rave_tech is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster??

Bloatware is software that use way more resources then they should.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster??

the only thing on this laptop that is not on my computer is waves mercury vst, which takes an extra 2 minutes to load pro tools but thats it....

my core i7 rig has everything on it, and of course it runs wide open no matter what hahaha LOL
__________________

Corei7 920 OC'd 3.4 ghz @ 1.375 v (6409 3dmarks)
Gigabyte UD5 x58 MB
G.Skill 3x1 GB DDR3 1333 OC'd 1550 @ 1.575 v
2 x GeForce 8800GT 16x16 2.0 SLI OC'd 650 mhz
Western Digital Black HD 32MB Cache 640GB

rave_tech is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Why is my laptop slow with pro tools? my desktop is old, but faster??

People in general often overlook what software is running on their PC's when they say that it's running slow.

Of course, it's possible the laptop is underclocking itself to save power. I'd run CPU'Z to check what speed it's running at first.

then I'd have a look in the task manager
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 10:04 PM
log from a slow running laptop chillar HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 12-29-2007 12:28 PM
friends really bad log..needs some major help here. Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 12-07-2007 09:44 AM
How to Share One Keyboard with a Laptop and a Desktop Computer jennyyu Off Topic Discussion 15 11-15-2007 07:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.