Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2011, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

I have an older Toshiba Satellite A105. It runs like a champ, but it's time to upgrade. I'd rather spend $150-200 on some new parts rather then buying a whole new laptop. I use it solely for some lower graphic games (Sim City 4, CoC Generals etc...), media and web when I travel. Specs are as follows:

Intel T2500 2.0GHz Core Duo processor
120GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
1 GB of DDR2 667 MHz in dual-channel

At a minimum I want to upgrade the RAM (4GB or better) and HDD (at least 500GB)... but I haven't the foggiest idea how to upgrade laptop parts. RAM won't be an issue, but I have no idea how to replace a laptop HDD. In addition it says it is Windows Vista compatible. If I upgrade just the HDD and RAM could I install Win 7? Or would I need to upgrade the CPU too? Currently I am running XP and I want to at a minimum have Vista on it, if not 7.

My two questions are:

1. What do I look for in a laptop HDD? Are the hookups any different then a tower

2. Can the processor be upgraded, if so are they the same as desktop CPU's or are they smaller for laptops? Again what would I look for?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

Hey bro! Haven't seen you on lately. Work?

Yeah, a RAM upgrade would be a plus. Do you have 1 or 2 RAM slots? Should see that in CPU-z. Your RAM limit is 2GB. Meaning, that if you put 4 GB in, it will only see 2GB and use only 2GB. Also, what speed does it say in CPU-z?

For the HDD, SATA hookups are the same as desktops. You just need a 2.5" disk.

You cannot upgrade the CPU. It is soldered onto your board. To answer your question, though, laptop CPUs are smaller in size and take up less electricity, hence the battery life.

Hope that helps ya!
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

You can upgrade the CPU. It's not part of the motherboard, it pops off just like a desktops. The issue is you really can't because there isn't anything you can upgrade it with. There is usually a range of clock speeds that comes with any laptop when you buy it. Just check dell or any other manf., you usually have speeds in variation of about 500mhz.

Point being no, you're going to spend a ton and get very little in return. Your best bet is to upgrade the RAM. Even then some laptops can only hold so much ram (a limitation of the motherboard on your system). Your's does max out at 4gb but you need a 64 bit OS to take advantage of all that. XP, Vista or 7 doesn't matter - just needs to be 64 bit.

Honestly IMO i would MAYBE upgrade the ram if you got it on the cheap and just reinstall windows.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

Lex, I looked around at the specs of the laptop. His CPU is soldered to his motherboard. And his RAM limit is 2GB. Unless you can provide a link to where this says so, I believe I am correct.

(RAM limit is from Crucial's site)
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 11:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Lex, I looked around at the specs of the laptop. His CPU is soldered to his motherboard. And his RAM limit is 2GB. Unless you can provide a link to where this says so, I believe I am correct.

(RAM limit is from Crucial's site)
I don't know where your getting your information but it is very incorrect. The laptop has a maximum limit of 4g. I have provided a link to clear this issue.
http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/tosh...-31956608.html

As for the cpu being soldered to the board, no. I have several laptops here in the shop with the same cpu series and same chipset and they are not soldered to the board. That is actually quite rare with the exception on netbooks.

Here is a link where you can see the cpu and retaining screws. Note the alignment mark on the cpu and board. NOTE STEP 23- Removing the cpu! This surely is an interchangeable cpu.
http://www.irisvista.com/tech/laptop...herboard-3.htm
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 08:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

I've removed the CPU from Satellites before, not the A105 but others.

As for the RAM, i was going off of CNET's review site which says the max is 4 GB.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

WTF? It said 2GB was the limit last night from Crucial's site. Today I look on the site and it says 4GB. Man, is that spooky...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 12:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

I think regardless you are better served saving your money IMO.

Reformat the PC to clean out anything, save your money and get a new laptop down the road.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 03:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
I think regardless you are better served saving your money IMO.

Reformat the PC to clean out anything, save your money and get a new laptop down the road.
This is also my advice. I just bought an Asus k50 series laptop with 2.5ghz Intel dual core and 4gb ddr3 for 380$ new. So throwing 200ish into yours to only have what you can get new for 400$ might not be the wisest move.
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 05:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: Want to upgrade laptop rather then buy new

Since your laptop uses DDR2 RAM, you will be limited to DDR2. DDR3 has 2 extra pins and will not fit into your laptop (I didn't really look up your laptop specs but I'm assuming its using SO-DIMMs) so a new laptop would be best. DDR3 RAM is getting cheaper than DDR2 as well.
__________________

ReikokuKo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade laptop HDD zhenkin Laptops and Notebooks 8 03-08-2009 03:22 AM
Laptop Upgrade McHopsky Laptops and Notebooks 2 01-25-2009 06:57 PM
Please help me out....trying to upgrade RAM on a laptop 808Flip System Upgrades 0 02-25-2006 02:35 AM
Help!!! Laptop CPU upgrade or should I OC it? OKLACOP System Upgrades 10 10-04-2005 06:28 PM
upgrade on a laptop? boywonder Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-14-2004 08:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.