Vista died on my laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2009, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Default Vista died on my laptop

I have an ASUS laptop with Windows Vista installed. When I try to boot it bluescreens when trying to load windows and immediatly reboots. At this point I get the option to run a startup recovery or boot up normally. When I try the start up recovery it just goes to a black screen and does nothing. OK None of that worked so I try to go into safe mode. I get the same bluescreen before it can start. So I call ASUS tech support and the technician tells me that I'll need to do a system recovery, which will erase all my data.

The problem is that the laptop is relatively new and I haven't backed it up, ever. So I asked the tech support person how do I back up my data, and she told me that they don't deal with that. So now I'm here to ask you folks what would be the easiest way for me to backup my data? I have an external harddrive that I can back it up on to, but unfortunately since I can't even get into windows I'm not able to use it.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
__________________

Wiles is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiles View Post
I have an ASUS laptop with Windows Vista installed. When I try to boot it bluescreens when trying to load windows and immediatly reboots. At this point I get the option to run a startup recovery or boot up normally. When I try the start up recovery it just goes to a black screen and does nothing. OK None of that worked so I try to go into safe mode. I get the same bluescreen before it can start. So I call ASUS tech support and the technician tells me that I'll need to do a system recovery, which will erase all my data.

The problem is that the laptop is relatively new and I haven't backed it up, ever. So I asked the tech support person how do I back up my data, and she told me that they don't deal with that. So now I'm here to ask you folks what would be the easiest way for me to backup my data? I have an external harddrive that I can back it up on to, but unfortunately since I can't even get into windows I'm not able to use it.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
You can use a working computer with an extra hard drive slot, or a SATA to USB adapter. Run windows normally on the good computer, and then use the good computer to backup the data
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 07:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

^No idea what he's talking about..

So you can't boot into Safemode?

Well, easiest would be to d/l Ubuntu livecd, fire that up, and copy paste your fileds to the external.

Ubuntu will run jusst like windows, and as your stuffs new, should boot with no issues.

Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu

Burn the .iso to a cd and just put it in the lappys drive and power up with the cd drive first boot.

And no, you don't actually install it... Its a Live cd.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
^No idea what he's talking about..

So you can't boot into Safemode?

Well, easiest would be to d/l Ubuntu livecd, fire that up, and copy paste your fileds to the external.

Ubuntu will run jusst like windows, and as your stuffs new, should boot with no issues.

Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu

Burn the .iso to a cd and just put it in the lappys drive and power up with the cd drive first boot.

And no, you don't actually install it... Its a Live cd.
I to clarify what I believe 95Black is saying is you could purchase a SATA / IDE to USB adapter, then take the hard drive out of the laptop and hook it up to a working computer. Which is a good idea.

The other idea that Pat said which is also good is to get a linux live CD, boot to that linux live CD and copy all your files to a USB drive. Problem with that is that Linux will see that the drive is in 'use' because it was never shut down properly. I've read a bit into manually mounting a drive in use, but haven't tried it.

Problem is if you don't have an extra computer or a linux live CD that becomes a bit more difficult. Let us know which is a possiblity for you.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
^No idea what he's talking about..

So you can't boot into Safemode?

Well, easiest would be to d/l Ubuntu livecd, fire that up, and copy paste your fileds to the external.

Ubuntu will run jusst like windows, and as your stuffs new, should boot with no issues.

Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu

Burn the .iso to a cd and just put it in the lappys drive and power up with the cd drive first boot.

And no, you don't actually install it... Its a Live cd.
I read it myself, and didn't make any sense to me either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
I to clarify what I believe 95Black is saying is you could purchase a SATA / IDE to USB adapter, then take the hard drive out of the laptop and hook it up to a working computer. Which is a good idea.

The other idea that Pat said which is also good is to get a linux live CD, boot to that linux live CD and copy all your files to a USB drive. Problem with that is that Linux will see that the drive is in 'use' because it was never shut down properly. I've read a bit into manually mounting a drive in use, but haven't tried it.

Problem is if you don't have an extra computer or a linux live CD that becomes a bit more difficult. Let us know which is a possiblity for you.
Thanks, pretty much what I was saying.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

Thank you for the suggestions, I am going to try the linux live CD approach and back up my data with my external harddrive
Wiles is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

What is the Stop Error Code?

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/

That topic will explain what the Stop Error code is and what information is needed. With that we might be able to try and save your current install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 12:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
What is the Stop Error Code?

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/

That topic will explain what the Stop Error code is and what information is needed. With that we might be able to try and save your current install.
Unfortunately it is there and gone so fast that it is impossible to see what it is as it reboots immediately after the error occurs.

I have now backed up all my files using ubuntu, but I just realised my system recovery disk is currently in storage in another city. so I won't be seeing that for a couple of weeks.
Wiles is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 11:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

Does it have a recovery partition? The new laptops usually come with a partition already installed on the system for recovery instead of giving you a CD / DVD.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 12:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Vista died on my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
I read it myself, and didn't make any sense to me either.



Thanks, pretty much what I was saying.

Phew... I thought i had a stroke whilist reading your post... Was worried.


Now that you got your files safe, I'd try fixing the error before a format..

You can get the dump file and thus the error code out of the minidump folder. or the most recent is called memory.dmp
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Battery Tips Harper Laptops and Notebooks 36 01-03-2012 12:36 AM
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Windows Vista Service Pack 2 Beta KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-26-2008 02:52 PM
Wireless issues. Vista works. XP doesn't. 128bit WEP. WTF? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 07-18-2008 12:49 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.