Vista and 2nd laptop batter - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Question Vista and 2nd laptop batter

I have an HP nc6230 laptop. I purchased the external 8-cell "travel battery". Once simply installed (clicked onto the bottom), it looks OK. BUT, I can't get Vista to recognize that the 2nd battery is installed.

Does anyone know how to do this?

Thanks.
__________________

richpit is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 06:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Vista and 2nd laptop batter

the batttery itself could be faulty, i have never owned a laptop but does the battery show up in the device manager?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 10:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Vista and 2nd laptop batter

Well, if the battery is charged, it is completely possible that Vista just doesn't recognize it. That happens a lot

Enter the Setup when the computer starts and go into the BIOS and see if it shows up there. If it does, then it's just Vista screwing up.
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 10:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Talking Re: Vista and 2nd laptop batter

Thanks for the responses. It seems to have resolved itself. I did nothing besides shut down and bring the laptop home for the evening. The next morning at work, it all showed up fine.
richpit is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 11:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Vista and 2nd laptop batter

good good
Nick is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Vista and 2nd laptop batter

HPaq just recently released a BIOS update for notebooks that think they have dead batteries. Might fix your problem if it ever comes back.
__________________

__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista cant detect my 2nd Hard drive Prophet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 11-20-2007 08:30 PM
The Vista Death Watch EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 112 11-20-2007 12:20 PM
Windows Vista Dual Monitor Help dishman Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-14-2007 04:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.