Vid Card upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2007, 09:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default Vid Card upgrade

I have an ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300 128MB vid card, what can i upgrade too?
__________________

__________________
Dell Inspiron 9300
Intel Pentium M 1.73GHZ
1GB RAM
128MB ATI Mobility Radeon x300
80GB Hard drive
tariqadkhan is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

Don't upgrade a laptop's video card. It's not like upgrading the hard drive, RAM, or even processor. Get a desktop.
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

Unless you know what your doing don't attempt to upgrade a laptop's GFX card its hard to do an very hard to find the parts.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

Isn't it possible to allocate more of your RAM to be shared with the video memory to therefore enhance the graphics cards capability?
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

Not sure, what laptop have you got. I will dig around for you an see what I can find.

Having said that I am sure you CAN NOT DO IT, but its worth a bit of googleing.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

Chris - thank you. Toshiba Satellite A215-S7422.
It has 128mb dedicated graphics card, ATI Radeon X1200 and shares up to 319 total mb from system memory.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

i wouldn't upgrade your laptops gpu. It is ver difficult to do and exspensive... ITs not like installing a desktop gpu. Each laptop has different variation of video cards that are different shapes and it will cost atleast twice the amount of a normal desktop gpu.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

Well I am looking into building laptops as a way of making a living an the GFX card issue is a tough one, I agree with luke that you can't do it normaly an if you can its not a job for the faint of heart.

Jayce I am still googleing around for you nothing yet, I happen to sell that laptop at work an we got one returned this week so I will take a look myself at it if i don't find anything.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 05:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

Jayce just out of interest an curiosity what version of the BIOS are you running? an are you having any problems with the screen or it randomly sending a active window to the task bar or are you experiencing problems with the built in mouse sometimes not wanting to move? There not common problems but checking my PDA I see i have two of your model in for repair an both have the same problem.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 05:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Vid Card upgrade

I'm not having any issues. But at the time I cannot check my BIOS version, I'll check back later.

I checked in with an IT instructor I have who said to me that typically if you could adjust those settings I asked about that it would be located in that docked ATI/Nvidia program that runs in the taskbar. I don't have anything ATI related running. I checked msconfig and I didn't see anything else listed there ATI related that I could re-enable. What can I do?
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
one last graphics card... realmike15 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-11-2007 10:37 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 12:17 PM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.