Upgrage And Optimize Cpu For Notebooks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 10-09-2008, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Lightbulb Upgrage And Optimize Cpu For Notebooks

I am newly come here, and I need to do the following consultation to all the members of the forum.
I have a lot of experience in PC but none in Notebooks. For example, to the old women PC Pentium with socket 7, in certain models of motherboard, they podža to update the BIOS to manage to place a more powerful processor, in general an AMD K6 the II 500 and this way to optimize the yield of an old PC simultaneously of lengthening his useful life.
I need to know in particular if there are models of Notebooks to it is possible to do the same, this is, to update the BIOS and that go on from 166 MHZ Pentium to AMD K6 the IInd 500 for example. Concretely, you mark and specific models. Thank you.

Old 10-09-2008, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus

Default Re: Upgrage And Optimize Cpu For Notebooks

Sorry to say but your research is a bit off. There is no way someone went from a Pentium to a AMD chip. They are completely different socket types. There is no way a AMD chip fit into a Intel socket spot without replacing the whole mother board.

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

Old 10-09-2008, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

Send a message via AIM to philbar71

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuerzas View Post
I am newly come here, and I need to do the following consultation to all the members of the forum.