upgrading ram in VIAO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2011, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default upgrading ram in VIAO

Hi, anyone upgraded ram in VGN-FW46GJ past the recommended 4gb in the specs? Saw somewhere on the net that it would go to 8gb, ie, 2 x 4gb modules, but can't find confirmation on Sony site. (Apols if this should be in a current thread, but couldn't find any similar - be kind to the TF newbie

mhogwhy is offline  
Old 05-16-2011, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: upgrading ram in VIAO

According to this: Sony*VAIO Laptop*VGN-FW46GJ/B Memory Ram Upgrade - 100% Compatibility Guaranteed at MrMemory.co.uk

The max is 8GB. You need 800Mhz.

Any of these, seriously doesn't matter which:

Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, Memory, Laptop Memory, DDR2 800 (PC2 6400), 8GB (2 x 4GB)

Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-17-2011, 12:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: upgrading ram in VIAO

Yeah thanks, that's the site I saw it on, but the question is will the os recognise all 8gb, as Sony's specs say max is 4gb!! Any thoughts? Tks.
mhogwhy is offline  
Old 05-17-2011, 07:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Lexluethar's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: upgrading ram in VIAO

Depends if it is 32 bit or 64 bit operating system. Since the hardware can support 8gb the limitation at this point is the OS. What are you running? 32 bit can only address 3.5 GB of RAM, if you are running 64 bit you can address all 8 GB.
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: upgrading ram in VIAO

Thanks, that's definitely helpful, will check.
mhogwhy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Viao Packed up! monitor issue johnc21 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 05:06 PM
Sony Viao upgrades Cdub89 System Upgrades 5 11-10-2006 07:27 AM
Upgrading memory on old Sony Viao phatrick88 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-26-2006 09:28 PM
Price Quot on Sony Viao Laptop Pepsiboy700 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-09-2005 10:34 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.