Upgrading RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2008, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Upgrading RAM

I am going to upgrade my lenovo z61m laptop from 1gb to 4gb of ram. I have no idea what I am looking at.

For example what is the difference between

Newegg.com - Rendition by Crucial 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory - Laptop Memory

and

Customer Reviews Of Crucial 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory - Retail

I don't even know if this is the right ram. I think I am supposed to be using PC2 5700 667, but for all I know I can be using something else. I really have no idea here, ram has always confused me. Can you guys help me out here? I have looking to upgrade for about 60 bucks including shipping. What would be the best bang for my buck?

Found this-
Computer memory upgrades for Lenovo ThinkPad Z61m Series Laptop/Notebook from Crucial.com

I still don't know what the fastest set up would be for me. I have Vista 32bit so apparently I only get use out of 3gb-3.5gb. Is there any other way to utilize more than this with 32 bit, or do i need to do a reinstall?

If you can answer any of this or just 1 part, please reply and help me out. Thanks.
__________________

r0bby is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Your system board will only support 3 gigs. So it doesn't matter, 32 bit or 64 bit your system board will only allow you a max of 3 gigs. Sorry - I ran into the same issue w/ my HP.

As for what to upgrade to, all you really need to do is match the RAM specs you already have, so you need to purchase PC2-5300. My suggestion would just to purchase a 2 gig stick or ram putting you at the max of 3 gig.

Newegg.com - Kingston 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory - Laptop Memory
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 01:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

The above 2 gig stick will be fine. Hopefully you've got a 1gig stick in the laptop already and this will max you out at 3gb. Any ddr2 667 stick will work, Kingston is cheap and it's good ram, too. Lifetime warranty is key so if it ever happens to go bad on you they'll replace it.

Next step is installing the ram, this is pretty easy. Usually there's just a slot cover on the bottom side of the laptop.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 04:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Is there any difference between those two sticks I posted early?

I just opened up my laptop and checked, unfortunately I have two 512 sticks. I will be buying 1gb stick and a 2gb sitck. Is there going to be compatibility issues with buying two different kinds or does it still stand that anny DDR2 5300 will work?
r0bby is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

As long as they are the same frequency / speed you'll be fine. So yes, any DDR2 5300 will work.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
As long as they are the same frequency / speed you'll be fine. So yes, any DDR2 5300 will work.
Is there different tiers of DDR2 5300. Like does one brand perform better than another?
r0bby is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 05:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0bby View Post
Is there different tiers of DDR2 5300. Like does one brand perform better than another?
Some brands will be lower quality, but just get one with a lifetime warranty and you're fine. Kingston, Crucial, Corsair, OCZ, Patriot, Viking, these are all good brands.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Problems carlito6904 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 06-14-2008 10:14 PM
Upgrading RAM for Dell E-1705 to 2GB Mach1threat Laptops and Notebooks 3 06-09-2008 05:45 PM
Ram Hussein19891 System Upgrades 1 06-04-2008 10:50 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.