Upgrading CPU on Acer Aspire 5532 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2010, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Upgrading CPU on Acer Aspire 5532

Hey I just purchased a new Acer aspire 5532 for the cheap price however i would like to upgrade the CPU to a duel core CPU.

Does any mobile CPU work? what do i need to buy, around how cheap can i get away with?

Thanks for any answers.
__________________

AsherMichael is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading CPU on Acer Aspire 5532

I doubt if your cpu is replacable. You should check this 1st. You'll need to take it apart and see if the cpu is mounted in a socket or is it soldered directly to the mobo. Not just any mobile cpu will work, what cpu is in it now?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Upgrading CPU on Acer Aspire 5532

AMD Athlon 64 TF-20 (1.6ghz)
AsherMichael is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Upgrading CPU on Acer Aspire 5532

I didn't notice you double posted, even though that's kinda bad, I figured I'd make sure you saw my response.


You need to find out what Socket the system board in that laptop has, then find a dual core that will fit it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...icroprocessors

I've heard that the Acer Aspire 5532 has an S1 socket.
( You can find out for sure by running CPU Z )
http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

So just go there and look at the processors that use S1, and find a dual core that suits you.

One thing you HAVE TO WATCH OUT FOR, is that you need to find out what your current CPU model is ( CPU Z can tell you ) And how much voltage it uses. (Listed on the wikipedia link there)
You should only replace it with a CPU that uses the same or less voltage to avoid heat issues.

Also make sure the TDPs are close.


As far as the BEST dual core CPU you can install.

Turion 64 X2 TL-68 2400 MHz 2 x 512 KB 800 MHz 12x 1.075/1.10/1.125 V 35 W Socket S1 December 19, 2007 TMDTL68HAX5DM

I think the Turion 64 X2 TL-68 would probably be the one, as it's clocked at 2.4Ghz and is built on 65nm tech.



Athlon Neo TF-20 1600 MHz 512 KB 800 MHz 8x 1.0 V 15 W Socket S1 Q1 2009 AMGTF20HAX4DN

I found your processor.
The voltage matches up sort of with the Turions, BUT the TDP on your CPU is a LOT lower.

If you install a dual core CPU you may run into heat issues.

So unless you also have a way to deal with the heat it might be a bad idea.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Upgrading CPU on Acer Aspire 5532

Thanks for the great information...

I cant find anywhere on the web to buy one. any suggestions?
AsherMichael is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best CPU I can get............ hesson81 System Upgrades 15 02-12-2009 08:44 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
ACER aspire 5570z and windows xp odie072 Laptops and Notebooks 5 09-29-2007 11:53 AM
Acer Aspire 5044WLMI Notebook lovercomputer Off Topic Discussion 2 09-21-2007 12:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.