Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2007, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

I have a Celeron 1.5Ghz (M) processor on my laptop and I believe it's time to upgrade to a dual processor. The pins on the processor look something like this:



I'm not sure which intel core2duo to buy as I don't want to receive a processor that doesn't fit my laptop's motherboard.

Would this processor work? Newegg.com - Intel Core Duo T2300 Yonah 1.66GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket M Processor - Retail

It's a T2300 and it says it supports Socket M.
__________________

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

Uhh you can't/shouldn't
__________________

__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

Quote:
Uhh you can't/shouldn't
Any reasons?
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

It's a LOT more complicated on most chassis' then it is on a desktop.. You'll be taking the whole thing apart basically.. Also the chassis might not be able to handle the heat and it's likely not a worthy upgrade anyway.. It's not like you're gaming on it are you..
__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
It's a LOT more complicated on most chassis' then it is on a desktop.. You'll be taking the whole thing apart basically.. Also the chassis might not be able to handle the heat and it's likely not a worthy upgrade anyway.. It's not like you're gaming on it are you..
yep.... laptop upgrading is really hard... u'd be better of buying a new one.....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 08:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

I've taken my whole laptop apart already.

I won't do heavy gaming as I would on my desktop, but I need the laptop to handle programs such as photoshop, video editing, converting, etc.. And with multiple programs running at once, the laptop has a struggle keeping up.

I just need to know if the pins would align.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

get CPU-z and see which Socket it is....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

Thats a Micro FCPGA 478-pin (Socket 478). Good luck hunting for a compatible processor. I'm pretty sure the one you've picked out isn't compatible. You can upgrade to a 3GHz one for about $80 a core duo is going to be unworth your while to buy when the ones i saw were going from $230 (not at newegg).
penguinshome is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 10:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Upgrading to core2duo on my laptop

CPU-Z tells me that my Processor is a socket 479 mPGA

Pic
__________________

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM
Help transfering harddrive contents on a non working laptop into the new laptop vickysmalls Laptops and Notebooks 5 07-25-2007 11:04 AM
Gaming Laptop...? Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 21 04-20-2007 02:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.