Updating Graphics Driver (ATI Radeon X1300) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2014, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Unhappy Updating Graphics Driver (ATI Radeon X1300)

So, I can't update my graphics driver. I could usually just go to the device manager and click update on the "Standard VGA Adapter" but for some reason it doesn't work right now.

Here's what happened: I wanted to update to Windows 8 so I did but I couldn't update the graphics driver. I was googling a lot until I found out that the drivers for my laptop weren't out for Windows 8 so I downgraded to Windows 7. However, it didn't work in Windows 7 when it would usually work and update to ATI Radeon X1300. I reinstalled Windows a few times but it still didn't work. I even tried to use Mobility Modder but when I was installing the ATI Catalyst it had an error that made it fail.

Here is the order of the installing (all of them even the ones not mentioned): Windows XP > Windows 7 > Windows 7 > Windows 8 > Windows 7 > Windows 7 > Windows 7 > Windows 7.

Specs
1GB RAM
1.83GHZ Intel Core Duo T2400
ATI Radeon X1300 (That is the driver I could install in the first two Windows 7 installations)

Theories
There could be physical problems with the card - I hardly moved it so I don't think this is the issue.
Windows 7 might be broken - very unlikely.
The scans for the graphics driver usually took me quite long, maybe an update in Windows 7?

Please reply this took me some time to write and I hope you can find a solution.
Thanks for reading
~Shady121
__________________

Shady121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Updating Graphics Driver (ATI Radeon X1300)

Go into your Device Manager and find the Standard VGA display or whatever...
Right click it, and choose "Properties". Now, go to the "Details" tab.

In the drop-down, find "Hardware Ids", and post whatever the first line says, like this:


With that, we should be able to figure out what model of ATI card you have, and verify which drivers you should be using.
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default

PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7149&SUBSYS_200517AA&REV_00

Also I googled it and found that it is an ID for ATI Radeon X1300
Shady121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Updating Graphics Driver (ATI Radeon X1300)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shady121 View Post
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7149&SUBSYS_200517AA&REV_00

Also I googled it and found that it is an ID for ATI Radeon X1300
Download AMD's X1300 drivers here:
Wow, amd doesn't let you link to internals.
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

So go there, choose "Desktop Graphics"=>"Radeon X Series"=>"Radeon X1xxx Series"=>Windows 7 (either 32bit or 64bit), and download the 1 option they show you.

Completely uninstall the old ATI drivers first, before installing this package.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 03:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Re: Updating Graphics Driver (ATI Radeon X1300)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
Download AMD's X1300 drivers here:
Wow, amd doesn't let you link to internals.
Download Drivers

So go there, choose "Desktop Graphics"=>"Radeon X Series"=>"Radeon X1xxx Series"=>Windows 7 (either 32bit or 64bit), and download the 1 option they show you.

Completely uninstall the old ATI drivers first, before installing this package.
I uninstalled the old graphics driver but it reinstalled. Do you mean to uninstall the old "ATI Catalyst"? Anyway, I installed it, now what? Do I have to go to Device Manager and select the driver?
Shady121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 12:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Updating Graphics Driver (ATI Radeon X1300)

The driver should have been installed when you installed the updated Catalyst package.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Default Re: Updating Graphics Driver (ATI Radeon X1300)

NVM I fixed the problem!
Here's how I did it:
1. I downloaded the ATI Catalyst suitable for my laptop.
2. I installed the installer. (It will say where it will be installed)
3. When the installer for the ATI Catalyst came up I hit cancel.
4. I installed Mobility Modder. Mobility Modder - ATI Version, Install the Latest Drivers on your ATI laptop
5. I opened up the Mobility Modder and browsed to the directory of the install files for the ATI Catalyst.
6. I hit modify and it did its job.
7. I went to the directory of the install files and double clicked the Setup.exe.
8. The drivers installed (ATI Mobility X1300) and Catalyst Control Center installed.
9. I went and played Minecraft
__________________

Shady121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/FT: ATI Radeon X1300 Pro AGP 256 firemandave Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 01-24-2007 10:42 PM
problem with ati radeon x1300?? Lg-lamegoods Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-08-2006 04:07 PM
ati radeon x850xtpe, asus radeon x850xt pe, visiontek radeon x850xt pe... enthusiast1917 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 11-14-2005 01:24 AM
SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON X1300 PCIE 16X 512MB any good? boggyplanet New Systems | Building and Buying 20 11-11-2005 10:41 PM
Radeon X1300 and X1600 Won't Need Master Cards Trotter Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-09-2005 12:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.