trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2014, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default trouble

so as many of you know, my son and i are in the middle of a gaming computer build. right now we are waiting for Christmas to come along. anyway, yesterday, he wanted to borrow my laptop (that i purchased used a year ago) to play some game that his current desktop would not play. so i lent it to him. he tried for over an hour to get the game to play on my computer, and finaly gave up. now, out of the clear blue, i get this pop up window that says my laptop is not running genuine Microsoft windows software. i have no idea for certain. but, there is an activation code showing in the system, and i have been getting updates (windows 7) from Microsoft all of this time. it says its running Microsoft windows 7 in one of the windows in control panel. so i am kind of at a loss. i did at one point press the button that is supposed to take me to Microsoft to "correct the problem", but it just sat there like it was loading, for more than 5 minutes before i closed out the window. until this happened, i thought it has genuine ms windows, but now i am not so sure. how can i tell for absolute certain? and if it is genuine, how do i get this pop up window to go away for good?
__________________

XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: trouble

Look on the bottom of your laptop for the product key. Write it down.

Go to Start -> right click Computer -> Properties -> at the bottom, click Activate Windows -> choose to activate online

If it doesn't activate online, it should give you the option to call it in and activate it. Do so, and you'll have to speak/enter in the code shown on the screen. It may ask you how many systems this copy of Windows was installed on - just say 1. Then it will have you enter in a series of codes. After that it should be done.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 10:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: trouble

well, the sticker on the bottom is for windows xp, not windows 7. i knew it had an updated o.s. on it when i bought it. but since i never had any problems (until now), i never gave any of it a second thought. the product id that shows up in system properties, is an " OEM " number. so i am not sure what is going on there. did the previous owner stick a system restore disc from another computer in this, and then use his original product id to register it? i don't know for sure why it would have an OEM number in an update. and unfortunately, i didnt think anything about it when i bought it.
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: trouble

Well, try the instructions I gave to you. It shouldn't ask for the product key if you activate it online or via phone.

If you get it reactivated, then retrieve the key using Magic Jellybean KeyFinder, WinKeyFinder, and/or Belarc Advisor (may be a good idea to run all 3 and make sure they all retrieve the same product key).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: trouble

while i was waiting for your reply, i ran several free anti spyware, mal ware etc. programs, and the pop up window has quit. must be a fake Microsoft site trying to get you to follow a link where they bleed you for money? if so i dodged a bullet, and most likely only because it took to long for the website to load.
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 02:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: trouble

Quote:
Originally Posted by XWrench3 View Post
while i was waiting for your reply, i ran several free anti spyware, mal ware etc. programs, and the pop up window has quit. must be a fake Microsoft site trying to get you to follow a link where they bleed you for money? if so i dodged a bullet, and most likely only because it took to long for the website to load.
Would be a good idea to run through HiJackThis (http://sourceforge.net/projects/hjt/) and post the log here as well, so I can look through it.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having trouble, trouble shooting O.o sirusx69 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 10-28-2007 10:59 PM
I am lost! IM trouble! Website trouble! WEIRDEST PROBLEM EVER SEEM! Please help me! TheMajor Internet Software and Browsers 14 10-28-2004 01:55 AM
ATI video card trouble, big trouble. blankcanvas Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 06-13-2004 03:13 PM
dynamic link library trouble michaelle007 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-31-2002 02:00 AM
dynamic link library trouble michaelle007 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-31-2002 02:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.