tried everything - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2009, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default tried everything

ill start by giving my laptop specs , ths is my first time here so be gentle as im a bit thick when it comes to computers.

acer aspire 6920g

intel core 2 duo t5800 (2 ghz 800mhz fsb)

Nvidia geforce 9500m

3gb ddr2 mem

320 gb hdd

My problem is very low fps when playing online. this wasn't a problem when i first bought this machine and im lost as to why its started being bad. now it's not like it does it all the time i can be happily running around with 60 to 70 fps when it suddenly drops to around 10 fps. it's not always a case of me coming across a very busy area or in a fight it can happen at any time.

ive done the usual stuff such as a virus scan , new drivers etc i' ve even upgraded to windows 7 from vista all to no avail. ive thought about heat and tried a number of things to combat that like the extra fans you put under the laptop, also to avail. the heat seems unlikely as it can happen as soon as i start playing or i can play for hrs without it happening, it really is that random. im told that fps is normally a graphics issue so i checked out my graphics card which im told should be more than capable of handleing the game i play (world of warcraft). i have online friends in the game with inferior laptops to mine and they dont have issues with fps , oh thats frames per second in the unlikely event you guys didnt know that.
__________________

waynemp is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: tried everything

I would be interested to see your "netstat" when playing these games.

the randomness of it all smells like updates in the background... anti virus / operating system ... etc.

I've been able to fix my random fps loss in Wow by disabling something through the Nvidia panel... it was seriously night and day... but for the life of me I can't find the forum thread that shows you which setting it is.

The random frame loss was caused by random processes, kill them all before you play and see what happens.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: tried everything

well i don't know what a 'netstat' is

also by killing processes do you mean go to my taskmanager and kill them from there?

i just ran the game after killing everything i dare such as anti virus etc but im unsure as to what i can kill without making stuff worse. i don't like to delve too deep as im not too clued up tbh.
waynemp is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: tried everything

Could also be throttling due to overheating?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: tried everything

Netstat is run from the command prompt. This command shows you all the open ports and their connections.

Lets not worry about that just yet.

If this were me, I would open up msconfig (start menu --> run line --> msconfig)
I would disable everything under startup... Reboot then test.

stay away from task manager when killing processes, especially if you're unfamiliar with what they are.

Go into Msconfig and disable all under "Startup".
reboot, then run the game... see if that helps.

This will narrow the issue down to OS/Application interference or Hardware (like kmote said above)
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default Re: tried everything

I've been having this same loss of framerate in WoW since I've upgraded to Windows 7 on my laptop. I've noticed that whenever I'm getting terrible framerate, it helps to change the game's resolution to something else, and then switching the resolution back. This resolution change reloads the game's graphics. I'm thinking there's something with the Aero interface that's causing poor rendering performance.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: tried everything

ok ive tried stopping all processes then ran the game, its the same, just big sporadic fps dumps. was ok for 10 mins then dropped from 100fps to 15fps just while standing still, then after 5 mins it went back up to 80fps and the scenario continued.

how do i check if my laptop is overheating?

silly thing is my wife has a laptop with lower specs and she doesn't get this problem. think ill steal hers
waynemp is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: tried everything

in the nvida control center (forgot exact name)
find the Phsyx option tab and disable it.

I still think it's something running the in background due to the randomness of the drop in frames.

I want to gather more info if you have time. While WOW is first running and running at full fps do the following.

Start Wow
Login and sit in dalaran or somewhere.
Minimize Wow
click "start menu" -- > Run Line
or start menu --> Search --> Run
Type in CMD (in the run line)
In CMD: type netstat
Right Click on the screen and select "Mark"
copy / paste contents of your "netstat" into your reply please.


Then once you notice it completely drops frames, RUN THIS AGAIN.

disabling the phsyx option on my 9800 gtx card made a huge difference.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: tried everything

check temps easy with: CPUID
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 02:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: tried everything

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50368 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50373 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50386 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50387 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50510 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50368 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50373 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50386 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50387 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50510 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50614 wayne-PC:10080 TIME_WAIT
TCP 192.168.1.5:50031 213-248-127-130:1119 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50032 host-72:3724 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50371 wy-in-f156:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50374 wy-in-f156:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50389 wy-in-f139:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50391 wy-in-f139:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50511 77.67.21.18:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50615 38.103.37.243:http TIME_WAIT


Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50368 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50373 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50386 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50387 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:10080 wayne-PC:50510 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50368 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50373 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50386 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50387 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50510 wayne-PC:10080 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:50614 wayne-PC:10080 TIME_WAIT
TCP 192.168.1.5:50031 213-248-127-130:1119 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50032 host-72:3724 ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50371 wy-in-f156:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50374 wy-in-f156:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50389 wy-in-f139:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50391 wy-in-f139:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50511 77.67.21.18:http ESTABLISHED
TCP 192.168.1.5:50615 38.103.37.243:http TIME_WAIT

god knows what all that means but thats what i get sat in dalaran doing nothing, i sat for 30 mins without a big fps drop so this may not be much help
__________________

waynemp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.