Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2008, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to mta630
Default Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ??

Hey everyone,

My names mike, and i have been an avid gamer for many years now.

At the moment, I'm in the middle of building a computer, which i only need a new video card, and processor for. But thats not what this post is about.

So anyway,

I Bought the Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 , For Business Purposes. But, being the gamer i am, i needed to have at least 1 game installed on it :freak:

This game is Warcraft III Frozen Throne.

An older game which does not require that great of a pc to run well.

My problem is that even though this laptop should run this game perfectly well on all high setting graphics, it runs choppy at any type of graphics setting i use. I have tryed all combinations of in-game graphics settings
All Resolutions i have tried, nothing helps.


The specs on this laptop are:

MS WINDOWS VISTA SP1
GENUINE INTEL CPU T2080 @ 1.73GHZ (DUAL CORE)
1.5GB RAM
ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M SERIES


I know for a fact that overheating is not the problem, i have the laptop on its side next to a box fan closed at all times, using an external monitor.

I use CCleaner, Advanced Windows Care, and AVG Anti Virus 8.0 . All daily so i know that my computer is clean from any kind of registry problems, or adware and spyware.

If anyone could help me out with getting my wc3 to run smoothly, i would be greatly appreciative!

Thanks in advance!!

Also, i used to run world of warcraft on this computer, and that only got 8 - 10 fps on all low settings, when i know it shouldve gotten somewhere around 20.


EDIT: YES, i Have installed the latest Drivers For My video card.
__________________

mta630 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to mta630
Default Re: Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ??

I dont know if this makes a difference but

It is an online game, although my i dont think latency is the issue because im running at 27 fps consistently
__________________

mta630 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ??

Have you downloaded the latest patch for the game, by chance? It may be a compatibility thing with Vista or with your Xpress 200m.

Try updating your sound drivers as well if you haven't, that can help, too.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to mta630
Default Re: Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ??

Sound driver was updated yes, also all patches for world of warcraft and warcraft 3 are up to date.

ive heard of people getting over 25 fps in wow with their 200m's

how come i only can get 5-10
mta630 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ??

Tried running on the laptop's screen instead of a secondary monitor?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 06:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ??

What's your start up items look like? I'm assuming you disabled everything unnecessary but maybe not. Toshiba comes with a LOT of preinstalled crapware. Check out your msconfig and give us the list or a screenshot.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Video Card Help Low FPS !! 123Justin Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-30-2008 09:36 PM
How to fix low FPS Preacher PC Gaming 4 02-02-2008 04:50 PM
Why do I get low FPS in games? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 10-14-2007 11:05 AM
low err not so low fps? 1337infamous New Systems | Building and Buying 20 10-05-2007 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.