This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2010, 01:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

Well to do that I'd say your first step should be upgrading the ram.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 02:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Well to do that I'd say your first step should be upgrading the ram.
yeah i'll mention that,
i wish i cud do a clean format
its been like 3-4 years ...plus idk wats wrong with the video installer...not sure why it just wont work
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 09:02 AM   #13 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

Is numlock on? If so switch it off and try the keys again.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 12:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
Is numlock on? If so switch it off and try the keys again.
ah i figured it out thanks!
well i still don't think this laptop should take 3 mins to boot even though it has 1 gig ram and i still can't get the graphic driver installed....ughh
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 03:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

shud i just back up outlook, reinstall vista? she shudn't even notice? or

or shud i back outlook and just re install using xp?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 03:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
shud i just back up outlook, reinstall vista? she shudn't even notice? or

or shud i back outlook and just re install using xp?
I, personally, would never reinstall an OS without consulting the owner. If the computer will run much faster with it reinstalled definitely push that fact. Back up everything, and let her know none of her important documents will be lost. I would definitely put XP on it, if the owner is OK with it.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
I, personally, would never reinstall an OS without consulting the owner. If the computer will run much faster with it reinstalled definitely push that fact. Back up everything, and let her know none of her important documents will be lost. I would definitely put XP on it, if the owner is OK with it.
all she is concerned is about her outlook emails...so i'm gonna be following the guide posted and try it on my pc and see if all her emails show up, her son who's my buddy said she doesn't care about anything else.
I might just reinstall vista on it, i've had windows 7 on a single core on a gig of ram and it performed fine, much better with 2, but 1 should be fine.
I'd rather go with xp tbh but its all up to her

EDIT


i ran windows 7 advisor and it said win 7 should be fine? shud i trust it?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 06:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

My buddy has Windows 7 on a single core with 1GB of RAM, and it runs fine. I say trust it, but if you're doubting it, do a quick dual boot. Just partition 20GB out, and install 7 on that. If it doesn't run that great, delete the partition and fix the boot.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 08:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

The windows seven advisor only cares about the hardware. Your hardware will run it fine, but there's no drivers. So it'd fail.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 08:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: This toshiba satellite a135 is driving me NUTZ!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
The windows seven advisor only cares about the hardware. Your hardware will run it fine, but there's no drivers. So it'd fail.
well i'm was gonna install xp
and then it says no hard drive detected, i guess this is a common error and I have to slipstream drivers into the winxp cd so i'm on that now and hoping that works...
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need to replace the LCD screen on a Toshiba Satellite A135-7404 dannyual767 Laptops and Notebooks 2 09-06-2008 03:24 PM
Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ?? mta630 Laptops and Notebooks 5 08-26-2008 06:00 AM
XP Error driving me nutz! Bosox3 Microsoft Windows and Software 26 04-03-2006 04:31 PM
Toshiba DVD-RW Driving me nuts sarukun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 02-16-2006 02:52 AM
Toshiba satellite A60 for everybody kanchu Overclocking and Modding 1 02-14-2005 10:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.