Toshiba a30-514 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2009, 08:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
Default Toshiba a30-514

my mum has this laptop. its pretty old, i just wana know if it has the capibility to connect to my houses wireless connection, if so how do i do it, when i click on the little thingy in the bottom right it only gives me an option to connect by dial up.

If i cant connect by wireless what would i need to buy to be able to do so?

Thanks
__________________

Natman03 is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 08:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Toshiba a30-514

You would need to buy a mini pci wireless card.

Wireless communication Wireless Technology : Wireless LAN upgradeable with optional mini PCI card

Wired communication topology : international V.90 modem, V.92 ready
speed : 56 Kbps data (V.90) and 14.4 Kbps fax
topology : Ethernet LAN
speed : 10/100 Base-TX

You could hard wire it as of now.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 09:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: Toshiba a30-514

any idea where i could buy one from the UK?
Natman03 is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Toshiba a30-514

D-Link AirPlus Wireless-G Notebook Adapter - Ebuyer
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: Toshiba a30-514

positive thats compatible? cuz im gona go ahead and buy it lol
Natman03 is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 03:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Toshiba a30-514

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
There is the part you are asking if is it compatible.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natman03 View Post
positive thats compatible? cuz im gona go ahead and buy it lol
There you ask if it is. There IS a topic about it already. Do NOT create another one.

It is a PC Card and it should work just fine. It support Vista so it should have driver for XP as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New log shades9323 HijackThis Logs (finished) 20 06-02-2008 03:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.