Taking command of hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2013, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MalignantBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 73
Default Taking command of hard drive

My sister's laptop is down and I'm recovering her data off of the old hard drive. How can I quickly take command so I can pull her stuff off.
__________________

MalignantBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Taking command of hard drive

Either put it in an external enclosure or hook it directly to your motherboard if you are on a desktop and have open SATA data/power cables.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MalignantBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Taking command of hard drive

I'm actually using a laptop. Right now I have it hooked up vis sata to USB into my laptop. and I'd rather not get an enclosure. I can read it, I just to to take command of it so I can transfer data
MalignantBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Taking command of hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalignantBC View Post
I'm actually using a laptop. Right now I have it hooked up vis sata to USB into my laptop. and I'd rather not get an enclosure. I can read it, I just to to take command of it so I can transfer data
Not 100% clear what you are attempting to do but...

If it is a "NTFS" Format, which it should be if its just a windows OS drive. it should show up in your my computer folder. However, if you are having issues, you can go to your "Device manager" then to "Disk Management"

There you should be able to see whether your sisters drive is detecting
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 09:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Taking command of hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalignantBC View Post
I'm actually using a laptop. Right now I have it hooked up vis sata to USB into my laptop. and I'd rather not get an enclosure. I can read it, I just to to take command of it so I can transfer data
Do you mean you need to take ownership of the files/folders?

If so, here:
Take ownership of a file or folder: User Rights; Security Policy; Security Services
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 06:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MalignantBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Taking command of hard drive

ownership yes, some people are using different terminology but thats correct
MalignantBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 06:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Taking command of hard drive

Taking ownership would be the correct terminology to use in this case.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 06:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
MalignantBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Taking command of hard drive

ok, thanks for your help!
__________________

MalignantBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.