socket m and socket p? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2007, 10:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default socket m and socket p?

Whats the difference between both socket types? I know they got different clock speeds but can a socket p be used in a socket m or vise versa? Only info I found was Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor - Specifications. click laptop specs and it puts em all under the same list. If you go to newegg it shows some as socket p and some socket m. Whats the diff?
__________________

Michowski is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: socket m and socket p?

Socket M is for the Mobile CD line. It only has 533 and 667 FSB. Socket P is for the Mobile C2D line. It has the 533 and 667 FSB as well as the 400 and 800 speeds.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: socket m and socket p?

Socket M seems to be more prevalent in my experience and they are Socket M C2D procs out there as well. They tend to be a bit more expensive, unfortunately.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: socket m and socket p?

so can you use either on the same board? Its just different speeds is the only difference?
Michowski is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: socket m and socket p?

are you trying to upgrade a processor and you need help on which type?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 12:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: socket m and socket p?

ya, I got a c2d 7200 2.0ghz in there now, im shopping around for either the 2.3ghz or 2.4ghz. One is socket p other is socket m. Will they both work on same motherboard?
Michowski is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 01:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: socket m and socket p?

you can only get socket m
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 09:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: socket m and socket p?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michowski View Post
ya, I got a c2d 7200 2.0ghz in there now, im shopping around for either the 2.3ghz or 2.4ghz. One is socket p other is socket m. Will they both work on same motherboard?
To be honest, I wouldn’t bother with that upgrade, because the performance increase doesn’t justify the price of the new processor.
__________________

Vaanish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help finding my prossesor socket..... optimuscrime791 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-13-2007 01:01 AM
Smashed socket 775 pins Fastvan67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 07-02-2007 11:35 PM
Wall socket computer H4x3r Off Topic Discussion 2 06-24-2007 06:04 AM
socket 939 and AM2 Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-28-2007 11:08 AM
FS: Socket A Mobo, CPU, RAM combo FghtinIrshNvrDi Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 03-27-2007 12:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.