Socket 479 compatible even on laptops? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2011, 12:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default Socket 479 compatible even on laptops?

So I have a laptop that's about 5-6 years old. Specifically it is a Toshiba Satellite L25-S1216 It's running terribly. Task manager tells me the CPU usage seems to be shooting up to 99% whenever the tiniest of things are done (ex. moving a window around, playing music). It has been reformatted and it still acts like this, even though there is literally nothing else running (acts the same in safe mode). I figure I'll replace the CPU and the hard drive. The CPU specifically is a socket 479... If I find a socket 479 CPU to buy, is it guaranteed to work on any motherboard (laptop or desktop or whatever) that has the same socket? Does anything else factor into the working-compatibility of a CPU in a motherboard?

Ninja48 is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Socket 479 compatible even on laptops?

Most mobile cpu's are soldered to the socket and can't be replaced, but some are removable. You need to check this before buying anything.

Originally Posted by Wikipedia
There existed three electrically incompatible, but physically identical, versions of this socket

Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Socket 479 compatible even on laptops?

Laptop CPU's are different from a desktop's. We would have to know exactly what it is. Even though it is the same socket, your motherboard may not be compatible with it.

But, I would not waste your money on fixing this. Save your bucks and buy a new laptop/desktop
__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are socket AM2 processors compatible with DDR3 memory? GhOsT1321 System Upgrades 3 07-27-2010 01:52 AM
Is AM2+ socket compatible with AM2? eyebrowsguy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-02-2009 04:14 PM
How do I know if a Socket 775 mobo is compatible with Core 2 Duo? Shando New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-19-2006 05:30 PM
Socket AM2 Forward compatible with AM3 MrZucchiniHead New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-07-2006 07:14 AM
What Is A Good Linux Compatible Socket A Mobo W/ Lan Support In Linux? Dimitri Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-23-2004 09:26 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.