screen manipulation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2015, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default screen manipulation

i feel dumb for having to ask this. how do i make what appears on my screen larger? with a larger screen, i can make things out alright, but this 14" screen is terrible for my old eyes. and reading glasses do not help, unless i set the laptop on my chest. i have tried the magnifier, and that is pain to use. so i THINK i want to change the screen resolution?? is that right? and if so, what way do i go?
__________________

XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: screen manipulation

Decrease the resolution.

Or increase the DPI at your current resolution.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: screen manipulation

THANX! now i can actually read without squinting so hard, i get a headache.
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: screen manipulation

Rather than lowering your resolution and sacrificing clarity for size when you're in a browser use CTRL + scroll up to zoom in, you can also increase the size of desktop icons using that.

You can also increase the font size for windows in Control Panel > Appearance and Personalization > Display
iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: screen manipulation

well, the control + scroll up didn't work on my computer. however, there is a fn button in blue print, using that in conjunction with + did the job wonderfully! Thank you very much!
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a PC for browsing and photo manipulation Joeyboy System Upgrades 21 02-14-2009 09:35 PM
Pretty Cool Photo Manipulation ** Possible Image Warning** motoxer4533 Web Graphics and Design 19 12-10-2006 10:43 AM
audio manipulation maddewey Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 05-18-2005 11:58 AM
String Manipulation in C Program Mohan Giri Programming 1 05-03-2005 05:42 PM
broadband speed increase via qos manipulation microsoftne Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-23-2003 10:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.